Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Strategies and Combos => Topic started by: Alex_Olijar on July 05, 2009, 09:47:38 PM
-
Miraculous Handkerchiefs delays the effect of placed evil cards on Heroes while they are in territory or set-aside (e.g., Judah’s Sin or Consumed by Doubt). It allows Heroes with placed cards to enter battle.
http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/default.htm?turl=specialconditions10.htm (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/default.htm?turl=specialconditions10.htm)
-
HOLY CRAP! Territory class and high places just got SO shut down... ;D
-
XD
that's funny.
who knew the new stuff would be shut down before their even released :rollin:
-
I need a hankie. :'( anyone got one ;)
-
npe sorry mines kinda well used lol
-
Personally, I would rather play a type 1 HP deck than put Miraculous Handkerchiefs in my deck. In order to run an effective HP deck they have to take up alot of card slots with mediocre placed cards. Right now ( I haven't seen the majority of the new set) I don't think Hp is over powered or going to be that dominant. In type 2 I think it could be more effective but still I am not totally convinced.
-
so if i have two heros set aside with two possessed by demons and i activate hankies do my heros come back?
-
so if i have two heros set aside with two possessed by demons and i activate hankies do my heros come back?
I dont think so since that is a setaside.
-
More like the ability was already played so Miraculous hankies protects from any played after it is activated, but it does not interrupt currently ongoing abilities. So no your 2PBD stay in set aside until SoG is played. Plus have they ruled set asides as a "negative effect?" This would effect the way the new Haaman promo works. I dont think they ruled Set asides as a negative effect so it wouldn't prevent that anyway. I could be wrong on the last part though.
At least that is how I would rule it.
-
Would that also allow my heroes with a pg panic demon on them to enter battle?
-
More like the ability was already played so Miraculous hankies protects from any played after it is activated, but it does not interrupt currently ongoing abilities. So no your 2PBD stay in set aside until SoG is played. Plus have they ruled set asides as a "negative effect?" This would effect the way the new Haaman promo works. I dont think they ruled Set asides as a negative effect so it wouldn't prevent that anyway. I could be wrong on the last part though.
At least that is how I would rule it.
The definition of "harm" and "negative effect" is anything of a different alignment. Every evil ability, by definition, "harms" Heroes (even positive ones like "all Heroes gain 0/4"). (Side note: this means the definition of which abilities convert is useless.)
Would that also allow my heroes with a pg panic demon on them to enter battle?
While I'm not sure why (or even if) MH does what that quote claims, I'd guess it because the original ability mentions enhancements. Panic Demon's not an enhancement, poison, or disease, so MH doesn't do anything about that.
-
Miraculous Hankerchiefs needs reconciliation between its ability and its Play As. I talked about this with Tim in the past, and I believe (I could be remembering this wrong) that he mentioned he would tell Mike about it. I don't know if any change/decision was made yet about what to do with the confusing aspects of it.
However, the play as clearly removes part of its former functionality, as it makes no mention to "Effects of enhancement cards." If the plan was to completely remove that from the ability of the card, then it would need to be errata'd, the only way to change the way a card is played. The Play As is simply supposed to help explain the way that a card is supposed to be played more effectively or correctly, but this Play As clearly looks like an Errata. Is there any chance this might get cleared up before Nationals?
Miraculous Handkerchiefs
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: All Heroes in holder's territory and set-aside areas cannot be discarded. Effects of enhancement cards, poisons, and diseases are delayed until Miraculous Handkerchiefs is removed. • Play As: Heroes in holder's territory and set-aside area are protected from poisons, diseases, and discard special abilities. Delay the effects of all poisons and diseases currently effecting holder's Heroes.
Kirk