Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 04:12:35 PM

Title: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 04:12:35 PM
Gifts of the Magi
Each time an opponent draws a card because of a special ability on a character or enhancement, holder may draw a card. • Play As: When an opponent draws because of an ability on a character or enhancement, you may draw up to an equal number of cards.

1) If my opponent plays an interrupt/draw some/play next enhancement, do I draw with Gifts before or after they play next?

2) If #1 is after, can I draw from Gifts before I play an interrupt/negate on the enhancement they played next, or must I interrupt/negate it before I can draw?

3) If #1 is after and my opponent plays a CBN end the battle card as their play next, do I still draw after battle resolution finishes?
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: SomeKittens on July 04, 2011, 08:26:09 PM
As your opponent draws, so do you.  Gifts isn't interrupted by ITB cards.
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: Smokey on July 04, 2011, 08:27:50 PM
Gifts of the Magi
Each time an opponent draws a card because of a special ability on a character or enhancement, holder may draw a card. • Play As: When an opponent draws because of an ability on a character or enhancement, you may draw up to an equal number of cards.

1) If my opponent plays an interrupt/draw some/play next enhancement, do I draw with Gifts before or after they play next?

2) If #1 is after, can I draw from Gifts before I play an interrupt/negate on the enhancement they played next, or must I interrupt/negate it before I can draw?

3) If #1 is after and my opponent plays a CBN end the battle card as their play next, do I still draw after battle resolution finishes?

1. After they play.
2. After you draw.
3. Yes.
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 10:47:02 PM
Conflicting answers, not so helpful. Thanks for trying, though.

Anyone else want to post and give a consensus either way? lol
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: SomeKittens on July 04, 2011, 10:51:44 PM
"When an opponent draws"

Why would you wait?
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 11:14:25 PM
Well, the "abilities must finish" rule comes to mind....
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: melike1hit on July 04, 2011, 11:16:29 PM
Well, the "abilities must finish" rule comes to mind....

I am a noob, but the artifact was there first so wouldnt its ability still be in affect?
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 11:20:48 PM
Yes it was in play first, but as far as I know triggers don't have a magical way to interrupt a card with (an) instant ability(s) before it completes.
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: melike1hit on July 04, 2011, 11:25:44 PM
shouldnt it be when the oppenant draws you to drawn and then follow the rest of the ability? this way you too get ur card and then everything else works out, and then if u have inicaitive u can play
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: Smokey on July 04, 2011, 11:26:18 PM
Well, the "abilities must finish" rule comes to mind....

Yep.
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 05, 2011, 01:09:39 AM
I'm not sure I understand the dilemma. You could not do anything while your opponent was drawing and playing next anyway, so what difference would it make when you drew your cards. The battle-ender card would not change anything, since the trigger for Gifts is not limited to the Battle Phase. You would still get to draw as soon as your opponent was finished.

What exactly is it that would cause a problem?
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: browarod on July 05, 2011, 01:59:25 AM
The main thing I was looking for an answer to is #2 because being able to draw before having to interrupt/negate means I'll have that many more cards at my disposable.
Title: Re: Timing of Gifts of the Magi drawing
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 05, 2011, 02:24:58 AM
The main thing I was looking for an answer to is #2 because being able to draw before having to interrupt/negate means I'll have that many more cards at my disposable.

All abilities (including triggered abilities) have to complete before the next action takes place. You would get to draw, then hopefully get an interrupt.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal