Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Warrior on August 26, 2010, 08:20:30 PM

Title: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: The Warrior on August 26, 2010, 08:20:30 PM
Quote
Its been ruled for ages that the 2nd use of Grail CBI
assuming this is true...........


If i intend to Use Grail and my opponent inturrupts me with "im DON'in ur Grail" Who wins?

Something like this:

"I'm Gonna Use-"im DON'in ur Grail" "but i already used it" "No u Didn't " "yes i did" "No you.......
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Smokey on August 26, 2010, 08:25:01 PM
If your opponent told you he was going to DoN it before you told him to convert his character, I would say your opponent would be able to discard it.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: TheJaylor on August 26, 2010, 08:26:46 PM
HG wins because it is already in the discard pile and cannot be targeted by DoN. the first use can be DoN'd though. same with captured ark, thirty pieces of siver, stone pillar, ark of the covenant, and so on. you also cannot use it on Unholy Writ unless you play beforehand.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Master_Chi on August 26, 2010, 08:27:25 PM
Crazy idea, but maybe it should go like this:

"I'm going to use Holy Grail to convert (insert character here)."
EITHER: Pause, or "I want to DoN your Grail."

Watch your opponent's face or body language so you can anticipate their action. AKA, look them in the eye when you say, "I'm going to convert (insert character) using Grail."
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: TheJaylor on August 26, 2010, 08:39:05 PM
you can do that. i'll just use it and say, "too bad!"
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 26, 2010, 08:44:56 PM
I'm not an elder. I'm not a tournament host. I barely know the rules. But I would rule it as such:

Your opponent must have a chance to play DON, you can't deny them that by being faster. If I have grail active, attack with Woman at the Well, and bring out their Uzzah, they would be allowed to DON Grail before I convert Uzzah IF AND ONLY IF THEY PLANNED TO DO THAT RIGHT AWAY: THEY WERE NOT QUESTIONING THEM SELF.

Assuming I have a Grail with one use left and I activate it, wait a while, and then say "Yo Dawg. I'm converitng ________" they can't say NO U RNT CUZ I GATE DA DAWN. You already used Grail.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Professoralstad on August 26, 2010, 08:45:36 PM
When you activate Grail for the second use, you can choose to use it immediately, giving your opponent no chance to use DoN. But if you leave it active to try to convert someone later in the turn, then your opponent can use DoN up to the point where you declare it used.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 26, 2010, 08:53:38 PM
if they try to DoN it during your prep phase, can you say "I'm already in my artifact stage of the prep phase..."
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Master_Chi on August 27, 2010, 09:06:14 AM
I'm not an elder. I'm not a tournament host. I barely know the rules. But I would rule it as such:

Your opponent must have a chance to play DON, you can't deny them that by being faster. If I have grail active, attack with Woman at the Well, and bring out their Uzzah, they would be allowed to DON Grail before I convert Uzzah IF AND ONLY IF THEY PLANNED TO DO THAT RIGHT AWAY: THEY WERE NOT QUESTIONING THEM SELF.

Assuming I have a Grail with one use left and I activate it, wait a while, and then say "Yo Dawg. I'm converitng ________" they can't say NO U RNT CUZ I GATE DA DAWN. You already used Grail.

Plus one for being a Saucy fellow.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Cousin It on August 27, 2010, 09:29:06 AM
if they try to DoN it during your prep phase, can you say "I'm already in my artifact stage of the prep phase..."

If you're actually already in your artifact phase and that's the artifact you're going to use, then yes.

Once your artifact is activated, it's ability has to complete before anything can happen.  If that ability completing means the card gets discarded and can no longer be interrupted, your opponent is just out of luck.  In other words, no, your opponent cannot choose to DON your grail before you get to use it just because he talks fast/louder than you.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on August 27, 2010, 09:42:55 AM
if they try to DoN it during your prep phase, can you say "I'm already in my artifact stage of the prep phase..."

If you're actually already in your artifact phase and that's the artifact you're going to use, then yes.

Once your artifact is activated, it's ability has to complete before anything can happen.  If that ability completing means the card gets discarded and can no longer be interrupted, your opponent is just out of luck.  In other words, no, your opponent cannot choose to DON your grail before you get to use it just because he talks fast/louder than you.
The one thing that you are missing is that hg is a manual trigger. He can use it whenever so if he doesn't use it right away it can get don'ed. To solve this what I do is i say i'm using it and then i wait a minute and let them decide if they are gonna don it. Even for my second use,  I wait for a second after saying i'm gonna convert. I don't say who I just say that I'm gonna use it.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: The Warrior on August 27, 2010, 06:37:42 PM
I Guess the Real question is "What point in the sentence does Grail activate?"
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 27, 2010, 07:12:20 PM
I would say if a player flipped up HG and immediately declared they were using it a second time, it could not be DoN'd. The ability instantly activates, so you could literally use it as soon as it flips over.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: The Warrior on August 27, 2010, 08:16:07 PM
I would say if a player flipped up HG and immediately declared they were using it a second time, it could not be DoN'd. The ability instantly activates, so you could literally use it as soon as it flips over.
i mean if it were still active (flipped up) but only used once.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Master_Chi on August 28, 2010, 05:21:24 PM
I would say if a player flipped up HG and immediately declared they were using it a second time, it could not be DoN'd. The ability instantly activates, so you could literally use it as soon as it flips over.
i mean if it were still active (flipped up) but only used once.

Your opponent should still have a chance to DoN it.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Cousin It on August 28, 2010, 06:07:18 PM
I would say if a player flipped up HG and immediately declared they were using it a second time, it could not be DoN'd. The ability instantly activates, so you could literally use it as soon as it flips over.

+1

If you want to, then you are certainly welcome to flip it for the second use, wait for them to don or not, then declare you're using it...but if you flip it and declare you're using it for the second time immediately after, there is NOT a chance for your opponent to DON it.  Just because you can use it whenever doesn't mean that HAS to be space in between.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Master_Chi on August 28, 2010, 07:25:09 PM
There doesn't HAVE to be ANY time before anything. It's just the polite thing to do. If they want to DoN my Grail while I'm letting them know I'm going to use it, I'll let them use it. I'm not going to deny someone the chance to do something when they have a right to.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: browarod on August 28, 2010, 09:54:03 PM
I'm not going to deny someone the chance to do something when they have a right to.
But they don't have a right to, that's the point. The rules do not allow for them to slip DoN in there. Does that mean the player with Grail can't be nice and allow them to DoN it anyway? Of course not. But, legally, the Grail person doesn't have to allow DoN to work.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 29, 2010, 12:15:12 AM
I don't think it matters if you're flipping it up from face-down either. If you used it last turn, your opponent had all of his turn to decide to DoN it, and shouldn't be rewarded for waiting to see if you wanted to use it again.
Title: Re: SlapJack again just with words
Post by: Master_Chi on August 29, 2010, 07:31:43 PM
I don't think it matters if you're flipping it up from face-down either. If you used it last turn, your opponent had all of his turn to decide to DoN it, and shouldn't be rewarded for waiting to see if you wanted to use it again.

I hadn't thought about that.... I was talking about first-time use. But yes, I would agree that if it active last turn, then they had the rest of your turn and all of their turn to decide to use it.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal