Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: CJSports on August 14, 2011, 01:48:15 PM

Title: Samuel?
Post by: CJSports on August 14, 2011, 01:48:15 PM
If you search for King David or King Saul but they are not in your deck can you still draw two?


Samuel (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green/Yellow • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate play abilities. You may search deck for King Saul or David and put it in play to draw 2. May band to a male I Samuel Hero. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Judge, Prophet • Verse: I Samuel 7:16-17 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: The M on August 14, 2011, 01:49:15 PM
If you search for King David or King Saul but they are not in your deck can you still draw two?


Samuel (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green/Yellow • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate play abilities. You may search deck for King Saul or David and put it in play to draw 2. May band to a male I Samuel Hero. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Judge, Prophet • Verse: I Samuel 7:16-17 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

If you manage to put a non-existent character in play, I applaud you.
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: EmJayBee83 on August 14, 2011, 01:55:09 PM
The phrasing "<do something> to <do something else>" is used in cost-benefit cards. In those cases if you cannot <do soemthing> then you have not paid the cost and are therefor unable to reap the benefit of <do something else>.

So, if you cannot put King Saul or David in play, you cannot draw 2.  You still can search your deck and band to a male I Samuel Hero though.
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: CJSports on August 14, 2011, 02:06:18 PM
If you search for King David or King Saul but they are not in your deck can you still draw two?


Samuel (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green/Yellow • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate play abilities. You may search deck for King Saul or David and put it in play to draw 2. May band to a male I Samuel Hero. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Judge, Prophet • Verse: I Samuel 7:16-17 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

If you manage to put a non-existent character in play, I applaud you.


I put myself in play once. ::)
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: Nameless on August 14, 2011, 02:07:28 PM
If you search for King David or King Saul but they are not in your deck can you still draw two?


Samuel (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green/Yellow • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate play abilities. You may search deck for King Saul or David and put it in play to draw 2. May band to a male I Samuel Hero. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Judge, Prophet • Verse: I Samuel 7:16-17 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

If you manage to put a non-existent character in play, I applaud you.


I put myself in play once. ::)
I could do that to!
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: SomeKittens on November 17, 2011, 11:22:23 AM
There are two things that must be done in order to claim the D2:
1.) Search deck for King Saul or David
2.) Put "it" in play.

That "it" is the card you just searched for.
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: Perri on November 17, 2011, 11:36:51 AM
I'm not sure I entirely agree.. I have David in my hand, and I enter battle with Samuel. I search my deck for David and put it in play. "It" Obviously means the card I searched for, and if I HAVE the card I searched for, I should be able to put "it" in play.

I'm not sure I'd want this ruled like that, for simplicity sake, but I'm not entirely convinced.
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: SomeKittens on November 17, 2011, 11:43:31 AM
I'd love for it to be ruled that way, and there is an argument for it.  However, as the rules stand, you can't.
Title: Re: Samuel?
Post by: Chronic Apathy on November 17, 2011, 12:22:49 PM
I agree with the ruling as it stands now. The "It" is specifically talking about the card you just searched your deck for.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal