Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on September 26, 2011, 08:48:59 PM

Title: Redirect
Post by: Warrior_Monk on September 26, 2011, 08:48:59 PM
Redirect:
"Redirect is a special ability that affects the opposing card. The wording on the card being redirected does not change. Rather a card regardless of brigade color is played as if the card were moved from the opponent’s character to the character that activated the redirect special ability."

Benefiting from Troubles:
"Redirect abilities (*/*) of one Evil Character in battle back on the Evil Character(s) in battle."

How does this work? Do I take my opponent's abilities, thus putting him at 0/0, thus killing him?
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: browarod on September 26, 2011, 09:32:33 PM
I think it's more like BfT creates an invisible evil enhancement with abilities -X/-Y where X is the evil character's strength and Y is the evil character's toughness. I don't think it's actively decreasing the EC. INE, though.
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: Warrior_Monk on September 27, 2011, 09:28:48 AM
I think it's more like BfT creates an invisible evil enhancement with abilities -X/-Y where X is the evil character's strength and Y is the evil character's toughness. I don't think it's actively decreasing the EC. INE, though.
How is that different than Decrease? It's not a poison, but if it's reducing abilities to */0, shouldn't you be dead?
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: browarod on September 27, 2011, 11:26:56 AM
Does playing Samson's Sacrifice on a non-judge, gold */1 hero cause it to be discarded? If not, neither would BfT.
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: SomeKittens on September 27, 2011, 12:09:00 PM
Yes, it would.  Therefore, BfT does too.
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 27, 2011, 12:20:54 PM
Sweet find...
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: Professoralstad on September 27, 2011, 12:49:59 PM
Yes, it would.  Therefore, BfT does too.

I agree.
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: browarod on September 27, 2011, 02:16:18 PM
I guess I've been completely incorrect about how abilities on enhancements affect characters for years, then. I always thought they were just added/subtracted to/from the character's abilities to make a total for battle outcome, not that they were physically changing the numbers on the characters.
Title: Re: Redirect
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 27, 2011, 09:23:10 PM
In a sense you're correct. Enhancements don't change the abilities on the Hero for the purposes of abilities like Abner's Spear or Thaddeus. However, BfT is a Decrease SA and would definitely kill the EC regardless of whether SS kills a */1 Gold Hero. That I'm not so sure of, it depends on interpretation of the ruling, but at least one elder has interpreted it to mean that a side of the battle reaching 0 defense after its enhancements are factored in will result in Discard.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal