Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: slugfencer on October 06, 2011, 02:13:36 PM

Title: Prot
Post by: slugfencer on October 06, 2011, 02:13:36 PM
The Gates of Hell (TP)
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: At any time, you may discard the bottom card of deck. If it is an orange demon or a Lost Soul, place it in your territory instead. You may discard this card to add your demon to the battle. • Play As: At any time, you may discard the bottom card of deck. If it is an orange demon or a Lost Soul, place it in your territory instead. You may discard this card to add to battle your demon. • Identifiers: Play to set-aside area. • Verse: Matthew 16:18

Protection of Jerusalem (FF2)
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: None • Class: Territory • Special Ability: Place in your territory: Protect your good O.T. Fortresses from opponents. When you discard an evil Assyrian from play, you may negate and discard an evil card. • Play As: Place in your territory. While it remains there, protect your good O.T. Fortresses from opponents. When you discard an evil Assyrian from play, you may negate and discard an evil card. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts a Weapon • Verse: Isaiah 37:35

1. Discarding Assyrians via TGOH doesn't trigger protect o Jerusalem because the assyrian is not in play? 

2. How about discarding assyrian from hand-will that trigger POJ?


Thanks!
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: SomeKittens on October 06, 2011, 02:29:04 PM
Triggered abilities don't have the "in play" addon.

When I first clicked on this, I thought you misspelled "Plot"
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: slugfencer on October 06, 2011, 02:45:41 PM
So neither scenarios work?

Yea, I meant to spell out protection o Jerusalem and I failed!   :-[
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 06, 2011, 03:27:56 PM
PoJ specifically says you have to discard it from play. It was worded that way intentionally to disallow discarding from hand.
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: slugfencer on October 06, 2011, 03:29:43 PM
Cool. Thanks!
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: slugfencer on November 23, 2011, 05:18:29 PM
Resurrecting my own post since I had another question about Protection o Jerusalem--

If I play Authority O Christ (discard all EC's in play) and kill all 5 of my Assyrians in my territory, do I get to discard 5 evil cards from my opponents territory?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: Josh on November 23, 2011, 05:36:37 PM
Resurrecting my own post since I had another question about Protection o Jerusalem--

If I play Authority O Christ (discard all EC's in play) and kill all 5 of my Assyrians in my territory, do I get to discard 5 evil cards from my opponents territory?

Thanks!

I would say yes.  It says when you discard an Assyrian and nothing about being limited per special ability used.
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: CJSports on November 23, 2011, 05:38:59 PM
Resurrecting my own post since I had another question about Protection o Jerusalem--

If I play Authority O Christ (discard all EC's in play) and kill all 5 of my Assyrians in my territory, do I get to discard 5 evil cards from my opponents territory?

Thanks!
Yeah but would that be useful since you just played AoCP.  ;)
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: browarod on November 23, 2011, 11:30:56 PM
Resurrecting my own post since I had another question about Protection o Jerusalem--

If I play Authority O Christ (discard all EC's in play) and kill all 5 of my Assyrians in my territory, do I get to discard 5 evil cards from my opponents territory?

Thanks!
Yeah but would that be useful since you just played AoCP.  ;)
You could nuke their evil fortresses or active curses or any number of non-character cards.
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: CJSports on November 24, 2011, 08:15:16 AM
If they have more than three in play I would be surprised.
Title: Re: Prot
Post by: SomeKittens on November 26, 2011, 10:10:55 PM
If they have more than three in play I would be surprised.
If they've got a protection fort out, you could hit that.  (More useful in T2)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal