Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: STAMP on November 10, 2011, 02:03:43 PM
-
Special Abilities
These are the instructions printed on the picture of some cards. ( See Anatomy of a Card and Resolving Special Ability Combinations in the rulebook).
There are two types of special abilities that define how a special ability is carried out: Ongoing Abilities and Instant Abilities. When a single card has more than one special ability (including gained abilities), and an order is not specified, perform the abilities in this order:
First, complete all special abilities in the order written on the card except those that add a character to the battle (banding abilities). Note that some special abilities can happen together even though they may be separated by a period. Second, if the card is a character with either a gained ability or a weapon-class enhancement, then activate the gained abilities in the order gained. Finally, activate the special abilities on the carried weapon-class enhancement.
Complete banding abilities.
Complete any Choose Blocker or Rescuer abilities.
Where does the activation of a pre-loaded enhancement fit into the above order of abilities? I looked in both the REG and the stickied rulings threads and could not find it.
-
All the loader abilities that I can think of say that the enhancement is activated immediately, so I'd say before anything else.
-
This has been debated for quite some time now. I forget if we ever came to a conclusion.
-
I think they activate after Choose the Blocker but before things like Hidden Treasures, however I'm not sure and have about zero ruling authority on the boards.
I however think they should go with weapons so we have it simply: Character-Gained-Enhancement-Band-Choose Opponent
-
(Psst, do you think we should reveal some uber ANB combo abuse in order to get them talking on the other side??! :laugh: )
But seriously, this is a very important decision. I hope one is soon forthcoming.
-
The activation of pre-loaded enhancements are triggered abilities (like Hidden Treasures). They take place after all other character and weapon abilities have completed.
-
That's what I thought. Thank you. :)
-
The activation of pre-loaded enhancements are triggered abilities (like Hidden Treasures). They take place after all other character and weapon abilities have completed.
Any way we can get this inserted into the REG quote below?
Quote from: REG
Special Abilities
These are the instructions printed on the picture of some cards. ( See Anatomy of a Card and Resolving Special Ability Combinations in the rulebook).
There are two types of special abilities that define how a special ability is carried out: Ongoing Abilities and Instant Abilities. When a single card has more than one special ability (including gained abilities), and an order is not specified, perform the abilities in this order:
First, complete all special abilities in the order written on the card except those that add a character to the battle (banding abilities). Note that some special abilities can happen together even though they may be separated by a period. Second, if the card is a character with either a gained ability or a weapon-class enhancement, then activate the gained abilities in the order gained. Finally, activate the special abilities on the carried weapon-class enhancement.
Complete banding abilities.
Complete any Choose Blocker or Rescuer abilities.
-
The activation of pre-loaded enhancements are triggered abilities (like Hidden Treasures). They take place after all other character and weapon abilities have completed.
If I make a rescue attempt with a prophet and have Hidden Treasures active , does HT activate after all good and evil character and weapon abilities have completed or after all good character and weapon abilities have completed?
Hidden Treasures (FF)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or discard an evil Enhancement in an opponent's deck. • Play As: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or search opponent's deck for an evil enhancement and discard it. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Obadiah 1:6 •