Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jmbeers on May 14, 2012, 08:47:41 PM

Title: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: Jmbeers on May 14, 2012, 08:47:41 PM
1: if an opponent starts a rescue attempt with a hero, and then uses charms to capt 2 from my territory. I then block with Babylonian Soldiers. Can they negate and discard charms?
Title: Re: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: Redoubter on May 14, 2012, 08:57:37 PM
1: if an opponent starts a rescue attempt with a hero, and then uses charms to capt 2 from my territory. I then block with Babylonian Soldiers. Can they negate and discard charms?

No.  You cannot negate Charms because it is already out of play at that point.

Even if you gave special initiative (by capturing those in battle), they could not use an ITB (because the card was not in battle).  I believe in that case you could only use a targeted "negate and discard an artifact" (must be that order, otherwise the negate can't be used in special initiative).

But I'm sure someone will come along to disagree with me and this will blow up.  Like this thread always does.
Title: Re: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: Jmbeers on May 14, 2012, 08:59:19 PM
Ok, so it doesn't matter that the Bab spicificly targets an artifact?

Ok, thanks
Title: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: jbeers285 on May 14, 2012, 09:01:38 PM
Told you son lol haha
Title: Re: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: Redoubter on May 14, 2012, 09:02:14 PM
Ok, so it doesn't matter that the Bab spicificly targets an artifact?

Ok, thanks

Is the artifact in play?  Nope.  Can't negate and discard then :)
Title: Re: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: megamanlan on May 14, 2012, 09:45:40 PM
I dont think there is a time when u can hit a D/C'd Artifact because there's no card that can currently, I think...
Title: Re: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: Redoubter on May 14, 2012, 09:55:21 PM
I dont think there is a time when u can hit a D/C'd Artifact because there's no card that can currently, I think...

Not that I know of, no (I can't think of one that starts with the negate).  But the principle stands.
Title: Re: Negate and discard V.S. an artifact that discards itself
Post by: megamanlan on May 14, 2012, 10:02:08 PM
Yea, because the rule states the only way to negate a card in D/C pile would be a Negate Last, and there is no Art-negaters like that.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal