Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: slugfencer on September 18, 2010, 02:34:55 PM

Title: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: slugfencer on September 18, 2010, 02:34:55 PM
I have nazareth in my territory.
Opponent plays mayhem.
Mayhem works on him but not me?  ???
Thanks!

Nazareth (Di)
Type: Site • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect cards in your territory and hand from shuffle by an opponent. Protect all decks from search abilities. •

Mayhem (TP)
Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six. • Play As: Each player must shuffle [return] hand into deck to draw six. •
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: fyero on September 18, 2010, 02:55:31 PM
exactly
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: slugfencer on September 18, 2010, 03:28:15 PM
ah, thanks. :)
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master_Chi on September 20, 2010, 09:55:27 AM
Nice find.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 20, 2010, 11:04:07 AM
yea had this happen to me other day- ouch!
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 23, 2010, 03:27:12 AM
Yes, however if it were another site that said "prevent" from hand shuffle, then Mayhem will work because Mayhem cannot be negated. Thanks.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on September 23, 2010, 04:14:49 AM
...why is it a bad thing if the opponents mayhem doesnt work on you? thats probably the best thing ever.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master_Chi on September 23, 2010, 10:46:55 AM
...why is it a bad thing if the opponents mayhem doesnt work on you? thats probably the best thing ever.

If they draw all their Doms in that hand they draw, and you're stuck with (r@p for a hand.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on September 23, 2010, 02:24:43 PM
99% of the time a mayhem that doesnt affect you is the best thing since most of the time it pops out during a time that hurts you the most (ie full hand, your turn rolls around, d3, out comes the mayhem. you just took a 5 card loss in addition to whatever extra cards your opponent draws over you. or during battle to act as a harvest time).
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: browarod on September 23, 2010, 02:26:07 PM
...why is it a bad thing if the opponents mayhem doesnt work on you? thats probably the best thing ever.

If they draw all their Doms in that hand they draw, and you're stuck with (r@p for a hand.
That is an impossible thing. The average player (based on decks I've seen in the deck section of this board) uses 11 dominants. Having used Mayhem for this to be occurring, that leave 10 dominants possible in their draw pile. As Mayhem only makes you draw 6, it is 100% impossible for them to draw all their non-Mayhem dominants by the ability of Mayhem.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on September 23, 2010, 05:14:36 PM
I play 8. Dom's
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 23, 2010, 05:23:40 PM
Would there be any way to negate the part about stopping search abilities, but keep the part about protecting your hand?
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on September 23, 2010, 05:26:11 PM
i have wondered that myself, because nazareth is such an awesome card yet its a double-edged sword. it stops your own harvest time, woman at the well, amalakites slave, etc.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 23, 2010, 05:29:35 PM
i have wondered that myself, because nazareth is such an awesome card yet its a double-edged sword. it stops your own harvest time, woman at the well, amalakites slave, etc.
Yeah exactly. One of like 5 counters to my type II deck is mayhem, but I need searching... is there a card that says like "protect abilities cannot be negated?"
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on September 23, 2010, 05:45:41 PM
not to my knowledge. i dont think theres anyway around the search prevent.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on September 23, 2010, 06:02:02 PM
Use Lampstand instead.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 23, 2010, 06:02:50 PM
Yeah I don't want to have to have a temple in the deck as well (I need my artifact slot).
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on September 23, 2010, 06:04:19 PM
although lampstand in herods temple is pretty awesome right now.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Arch Angel on September 23, 2010, 09:33:31 PM
Both abilities on Nazareth are Protects. So I don't know that it will ever really be possible to negate one half of that site.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Professoralstad on September 24, 2010, 10:19:07 AM
Of course, if you need to search a deck with a Hero, you could put Nazareth in battle as an Access Site where its ability is not active...
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 24, 2010, 11:30:01 AM
your a mean, mean man
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on September 24, 2010, 12:56:20 PM
Of course, if you need to search a deck with a Hero, you could put Nazareth in battle as an Access Site where its ability is not active...

Never thought of that, that is a great suggestion. I'll abuse that combo in my play group now.

ML.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 24, 2010, 05:43:37 PM
Of course, if you need to search a deck with a Hero, you could put Nazareth in battle as an Access Site where its ability is not active...

Never thought of that, that is a great suggestion. I'll abuse that combo in my play group now.

ML.
And I will stop you.  ;)
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 24, 2010, 06:55:41 PM
Too bad battle begins by placing Heroes in battle. You could use this trick to get search Enhancements to work, but not Heroes with a Search ability unless you band them in with an enhancement.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: browarod on September 24, 2010, 07:01:06 PM
Too bad battle begins by placing Heroes in battle. You could use this trick to get search Enhancements to work, but not Heroes with a Search ability unless you band them in with an enhancement.
Why? Sites can enter battle "at any time" meaning Nazareth could be placed in with the hero beginning the battle.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 24, 2010, 07:04:06 PM
No, the hero ability has to complete first.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 24, 2010, 07:04:21 PM
The Hero is not in battle until his SA has completed. There is no battle until a Hero (or Taunting EC) is in battle. There is never a window of opportunity to put Nazareth into battle and let the first string of Heroes search with their abilities.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 24, 2010, 07:06:45 PM
I still don't get "taunting..."
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 24, 2010, 07:08:53 PM
Battle-challenge, but with an EC.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: browarod on September 24, 2010, 07:09:57 PM
The Hero is not in battle until his SA has completed. There is no battle until a Hero (or Taunting EC) is in battle. There is never a window of opportunity to put Nazareth into battle and let the first string of Heroes search with their abilities.
If cards cannot enter battle with characters then I should always be able to draw and play with Throne of David since the EC's weapon enters after the EC has entered (i.e. "blocked").
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 24, 2010, 07:10:53 PM
Battle-challenge, but with an EC.
I'm assuming you have to block to do this? Or no?
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: browarod on September 24, 2010, 07:17:14 PM
Basically, if your opponent doesn't have any Lost Souls, you can make a Taunt battle challenge with an EC that has the Taunt identifier during your turn. It's the only battle you can do that turn (just like any other battle). If you win the Taunt (either by defeating the hero they present, or if they don't present a hero) you get to do whatever the card says in parenthesis after the Taunt identifier (for example, Goliath lets you place an opponent's hero beneath deck if he wins).

Does that help?
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on September 24, 2010, 09:01:45 PM
Yes, thanks. Bummer it only works if they don't have ls though...
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: SirNobody on October 04, 2010, 01:11:25 PM
Hey,

The Hero is not in battle until his SA has completed.

This is not true.  The hero is in battle as soon as it is in the field of battle.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 04, 2010, 01:14:59 PM
That's obviously wrong. Disregarding until someone agrees with you.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Warrior_Monk on October 04, 2010, 01:21:25 PM
I'm No Elder, but I agree. Otherwise Hur could rescue a soul drawn in T2.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on October 04, 2010, 01:59:56 PM
Ring Wraith's logic is one of the reasons that the rule is that way.

I agree with Tim.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 04, 2010, 02:01:22 PM
Well this is lovely... I thought this whole mess was sorted out back with Angels Sword vs 2kh on Assyrian Archer.

Posting here to remind myself of this thread later, as I don't have time to write a long post right now.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 04, 2010, 02:21:24 PM
I think the hero enter battle before it's special ability activates right???
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Josh on October 04, 2010, 02:26:52 PM
I know this is a little off the track of the current thread discussion, but it is relevant based on the two cards discussed by the original poster.  I didn't see any mention of this earlier in the thread, so:

If I have Nazareth in my territory and my opponent plays Mayhem, I would just draw 6 cards, correct?  I am protected from shuffling my current hand in, but nothing on Mayhem or Nazareth makes me believe that I wouldn't draw 6.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 04, 2010, 02:30:31 PM
correct.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 04, 2010, 06:15:29 PM
sounds like Nazareth stops alot.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 04, 2010, 08:17:14 PM
If Nazareth doesn't stop the drawing ability of Mayhem, then Nazareth is helping Mayhem a lot. However, Mayhem's effect states that shuffle your hand to draw 6 cards, therefore Mayhem's effect won't work. THank you.

ML.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 04, 2010, 08:18:36 PM
wrong. mayhem does not say that.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 04, 2010, 08:22:22 PM
wrong. mayhem does not say that.

Mayhem (TP)

Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six. • Play As: Each player must shuffle [return] hand into deck to draw six. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Isaiah 59:7 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

See also:

•      Draw

•      Return

Not that I am going against you, but I got this from the REG. Thank you.

ML.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 04, 2010, 08:28:34 PM
i would suggest reading the actual card rather than the REG then.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 04, 2010, 08:35:58 PM
i would suggest reading the actual card rather than the REG then.

I would suggest you do the same:

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.redemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FMayhem%2520%28TP%29.gif&hash=8b6b6530f7f74f3a6d0df2597a85b83e5e37360a)

You must shuffle in order to draw. Simple as that.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 04, 2010, 10:45:07 PM
o_0 How is the art in RTS wrong!? I could have sworn the card scan says "and."
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 04, 2010, 11:03:31 PM
I blame this on you pol. :P
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 04, 2010, 11:18:17 PM
AHAHAHAHAHAHA I REALZED WHAT HAPPED THERES A AND IN HAND AND I ACCIDENTALLY THE WHOLE CARD
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 05, 2010, 12:18:07 AM
... that and RTS has the ability wrong.

it says "Each player must shuffle their hand and draw six."
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 05, 2010, 12:54:08 AM
Would someone look at their mayhem and check the wording, because if that one and the RTS is wrong then we need to see the cards to clarify. Thanks.

ML.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 05, 2010, 01:22:57 AM
Michael, I just posted a picture of the card.... lol.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 05, 2010, 02:53:01 AM
But you said the card and the RTS is wrong.

... that and RTS has the ability wrong.

it says "Each player must shuffle their hand and draw six."

That is not what it said on your card. Thanks.

ML>
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 05, 2010, 03:10:40 AM
that is what it says in rts. 'and', not 'to'.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 05, 2010, 08:31:27 AM
so Nazareth still stops an opponent from shuffling your hand away but you dont get to abuse thier Mayhem by adding 6 more cards to your hand. Sounds fair to me. I still dislike Nazareth. That card kills.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 05, 2010, 08:59:12 AM
But you said the card and the RTS is wrong.

... that and RTS has the ability wrong.

it says "Each player must shuffle their hand and draw six."

That is not what it said on your card. Thanks.

ML>

I never said the card itself was wrong, just RTS.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master_Chi on October 05, 2010, 09:21:36 AM
Lambo is right, my copy of Mayhem says "to" instead of "and", but the card in RTS says "and" instead of "to"....
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 05, 2010, 01:24:27 PM
Lambo is right, my copy of Mayhem says "to" instead of "and", but the card in RTS says "and" instead of "to"....

Oh, so the card on RTS is wrong, however the effect that they post in RTS is right. THanks.

ML>
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 05, 2010, 02:55:28 PM
no. no. -_-

the picture of mayhem in RTS is right. the effect in RTS is wrong.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master_Chi on October 05, 2010, 06:24:35 PM
no. no. -_-

the picture of mayhem in RTS is right. the effect in RTS is wrong.

Correct. Picture good, effect bad.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 08, 2010, 06:54:58 PM
Actually the text in RTS is correct. The stuff printed on the card and the stuff in the REG is incorrect, as is the image in RTS.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 08, 2010, 06:57:58 PM
Actually the text in RTS is correct. The stuff printed on the card and the stuff in the REG is incorrect, as is the image in RTS.

I really, I never thought of that part.

no. no. -_-

the picture of mayhem in RTS is right. the effect in RTS is wrong.

I got mix up with RTS and REG, sorry.

ML.

Correct. Picture good, effect bad.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 08, 2010, 10:48:27 PM
Quote
Actually the text in RTS is correct. The stuff printed on the card and the stuff in the REG is incorrect, as is the image in RTS.

When I read this i immediately grabbed my deck and looked at my mayhem to make sure...noob
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 09, 2010, 02:10:53 AM
Actually, I am pretty sure the REG's effect and the card is right, because when we came up with this design, was suppose to shuffle to draw, but I don't know why people said is wrong.

ML.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master KChief on October 09, 2010, 02:16:39 AM
...

the REG effect and picture is correct. rawrlolsauce was just being his usual self and joking.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Michael_of_the_Star on October 09, 2010, 01:31:29 PM
...

the REG effect and picture is correct. rawrlolsauce was just being his usual self and joking.

So that was a joke? Laugh out loud, It seems like I need to learn how to joke around more often.

ML.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: lightningninja on October 09, 2010, 02:47:05 PM
For sure. Call him a noob.
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Warrior_Monk on October 10, 2010, 01:07:28 AM
(today he played Mayhem when a Nazareth was out, and he thought Gabe would get to draw six  :D )
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on November 03, 2010, 11:32:49 PM
>:c.
I'm necroposting because I just saw Ring Wraith's post >:c.
1.) It was Simon the Zealot. I specifically looked for Nazareth because I'm not a noob. >:c
2.) That wasn't the reason for my disappointment. I was disappointed because he didn't shuffle his hand in. >:c
>:c







>:c
Title: Re: Nazareth vs Mayhem
Post by: Master_Chi on November 04, 2010, 09:12:19 AM
>:c.
I'm necroposting because I just saw Ring Wraith's post >:c.
1.) It was Simon the Zealot. I specifically looked for Nazareth because I'm not a noob. >:c
2.) That wasn't the reason for my disappointment. I was disappointed because he didn't shuffle his hand in. >:c
>:c







>:c

Call him a noob.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal