Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minister Polarius on November 22, 2015, 05:55:33 PM
-
"Return all Evil Enhancements except this one to holder's hand if Evil Character loses in battle."
When does Momentum Change target, is it a delayed trigger or does it trigger during battle resolution, and which Enhancements does it target (it would appear to have been intended to target the ones played in that battle, but that's not what it actually says)? If it indeed returns all, do you get to pick up other players' EE's or does "return" imply that they have to be yours (even though you can have EE's out that were never in your hand in the first place, do those go to your hand?) Does "this one" refer to Momentum Change or to the more literal interpretation of that specific Momentum Change? Which Evil Character, the one it was played on or any Evil Character?
-
- Return (to Hand)
- A return to handability puts a card into its owner’s hand.
- If a card is returned to a hand other than its owner's hand, it is returned to its owner's hand instead.
- A return to handability targets the cards that are to be returned to hand
Okay with this established:
1. I'm not sure about the triggering, but I would say it was a delayed trigger in the same manner as any of the Archers.
2. All means all. All EE's in play (except that copy of MC [or in the case of a 100+ deck, I would say all but the last copy of MC played that battle]) when the trigger is satisfied and fires would be returned to their owner's hands as Return to Hand cannot send one player's card to another player's hand.
3. I would say the Evil Character specified would be the EC that MC was played on and only that EC.
-
Not quite for 2 and 3; we also need more of the Default Conditions, which answer some of the questions alone:
● Targets must be “in play.”
● An ability that returns “all enhancements” (or “all good enhancements” or “all evil enhancements”) from battle targets all enhancements played on the same side of the battle as the card with that ability
The second part answers your question about "which evil enhancements:" it is all on the same side as Momentum Change is played. It is not all of the EE in battle, just on that side.
As far as the first question, Praeceps is correct, as it is a delayed trigger that tells you that something happens to the cards that were played rather than them going to the discard pile (thus it happens in Battle Resolution).
Lastly, in regards to which hand cards go to, they always go to owner's hand with a Return To Hand ability, as it states in the General Description (otherwise it is a Take). That part of the General Description should probably be a "default condition" instead, with the General Description reading "A return to hand ability puts a card into a hand." We'll discuss that.
-
Ahh, I took that to mean that Default condition only applied if the return to hand targeted "all... in battle" and not that it was played in battle.
-
Ahh, I took that to mean that Default condition only applied if the return to hand targeted "all... in battle" and not that it was played in battle.
I can certainly see where that is not perfectly clear. I think this entry could use some work.
-
I could perhaps be more clear in that Momentum Change does not specifically return cards from battle (the only mention of battle is that losing one activates the trigger) while the entry seems to be specifically talking about return cards that target cards played in battle rather than saying all return cards return cards from your side of the battle.