Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on April 25, 2009, 08:02:38 AM
-
Ok so I make an RA with Rachel(5/6 Green Brigade no SA) opponent blocks with Laban. I have initiative and play Live Coal(4/2 no SA) making Rachel 9/8, he plays Fortress of Ashdod(0/6 no SA) on Laban, I then play Love for Rachel:
Love for Rachel
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: During this and following rescue attempts, Rachel may band with any male Hero. • Play As: If holder has Rachel in play, she gains the ability “If making a rescue attempt, Rachel may band with any male Hero. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 29:20 • Availability: Women booster packs (Uncommon)
and band in Samson( :P why not):
Samson
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 12 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: All good gold enhancements without special abilities double in value unless a female Evil Character is in battle. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Judge, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: Judges 14:5-6 • Availability: Promotional cards (2002 Local Tournament) • Background
... and My opponent CM's Rachel. My question is does Live Coal remain in Battle? I know Samson gets to stay, but does Live Coal. I also assume that Live Coal does not "redirect" onto Samson even if it does stay because it was not played on him originally, right?
-
Live Coal does not remain (gets discarded) since Samson's brigade does not match.
If you had banded to, say, Isaiah (green, 7/8), and Rachel was discarded, Live Coal would stay since it matches a brigade still in battle (it gets transfered or "redirected" to Isaiah).
-
REG Support for sk's answer:
Ongoing Abilities > Use Other Enhancements > How to Use
• Although the restrictions of matching brigade is relaxed for these card types, each enhancement card must still be activated on a specific character. That character retains the enhancements while the character is in battle. If a character is removed or withdraws before the end of the battle, the enhancements are discarded unless there is another character currently in the battle or immediately replaced in battle that can use them. The remaining cards unused are then discarded.
-
Ok that makes sense but what about a similar scenario. RA with Huldah(7/5 no SA) play Hammer of God on her(4/2 no SA) and then Bring in Samson with Two Olive Branches:
Two Olive Branches
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: A second Hero from the Gold Brigade may be added to the battle for one turn. • Identifiers: OT, Based on Prophecy • Verse: Zechariah 4:12 • Availability: Prophets booster packs (Rare)
The only way Hammer of God would double would be if Huldah was removed from the Battle because it doesn't reactivate on Samson if she is still in battle correct?
-
The only way Hammer of God would double would be if Huldah was removed from the Battle because it doesn't reactivate on Samson if she is still in battle correct?
No, it would double anyway because Samson's SA says "all enhancements..."
-
But it also says, "unless a female Evil Character is in battle." Thus why it doesn't work with Huldah in battle.
I'm not sure if his ability is ongoing in that it begins working if she leaves battle. It may be a one-time check for females.
BTW, Korunks, it's not really "reactivating" as much as a transfer.
On a side note, you win bonus points for finding a possible question involving Huldah.
-
Huldah is not an evil character.
-
Oh, that "evil" hid from me when I read it. My bad. YMT is right, it works regardless.
-
I use Huldah often, is that unusual? I like her beacuse she's not as wimpy as Leah, but can still get initiative as needed.
She is often seen in the company of either Samson or Apollos. Speak softly, bring big dudes for backup. ;D