Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemption collector 777 on November 15, 2015, 03:03:38 PM

Title: King abijam and other question.
Post by: redemption collector 777 on November 15, 2015, 03:03:38 PM
King Abijam SA:

If you control a priest or Temple Artifact, negate Sites. If your rescue attempt is successful, take an opponent's Site. If blocking, decrease a Hero X/X.

1. If King Abijam (brown EC) blocks a hero does the "decrease" part of the SA only apply or does the "negate sites" also apply as well?



Household Idols errata SA: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

King Amaziah (purple) part of SA: If this Hero is captured, you may add your O.T. Hero to the battle.

1. Is King Amaziah considered a good banding card? Can this hero enter battle while HHI is active?
Title: Re: King abijam and other question.
Post by: YourMathTeacher on November 15, 2015, 03:34:40 PM
1. The "negate sites" ability applies to either form of King Abijam, as long as the condition is met.

2. I'm not sure if a more specific definition has been created, but traditionally a banding card must have a band ability that could activate as soon as it enters battle. Since King Amaziah's SA has a conditional trigger, it did not used to be considered a "banding card." However, note that if King Amaziah is captured, HHI would prevent the band.

I also believe that "Ignore" rules have changed, and the character can still enter battle, but still be ignored. Can someone else verify that?
Title: Re: King abijam and other question.
Post by: RedemptionAggie on November 15, 2015, 04:02:26 PM
2. I believe "add to battle" is only a band if it's adding an additional character to a side of the battle, so I don't think HHI prevents Amaziah if he was the only hero in battle.

YMT is correct on the ignore change, but I don't remember how that interacts with HHI.
Title: Re: King abijam and other question.
Post by: Praeceps on November 15, 2015, 04:06:04 PM
1. The "negate sites" ability applies to either form of King Abijam, as long as the condition is met.

2. I'm not sure if a more specific definition has been created, but traditionally a banding card must have a band ability that could activate as soon as it enters battle. Since King Amaziah's SA has a conditional trigger, it did not used to be considered a "banding card." However, note that if King Amaziah is captured, HHI would prevent the band.

I also believe that "Ignore" rules have changed, and the character can still enter battle, but still be ignored. Can someone else verify that?

1. Correct.

2. Add to battle only counts as a band if a character is already on the same side of that battle so if Amaziah had been rescuing alone, he would not count as a band card. If he had been banded in and the other Hero was still in battle, then he would count as a band card.

The rule change made ignore default to play as it was changed to target the characters and not the field of battle any more so a character can enter battle even through ignore if they come from a location that is out of play (so deck/hand/set-aside work still) but upon reaching the field of battle they then become ignored. The idea would be to use, say, a King of Tyrus from hand to block a watchful servant thereby negating his ignore or to play a CBP/CBN band character from hand in the case of HHI.


Here's a question:

The default conditions for ignore says:
Quote
Only Characters in the Field of Battle can ignore​​ other characters

Does HHI get around this because it superceeds this rule, because this rule refers to "other characters" and since HHI is an artifact, not a character, it doesn't count, or does HHI not get to ignore anymore?
Title: Re: King abijam and other question.
Post by: Redoubter on November 15, 2015, 06:35:23 PM
Here's a question:

The default conditions for ignore says:
Quote
Only Characters in the Field of Battle can ignore​​ other characters

Does HHI get around this because it superceeds this rule, because this rule refers to "other characters" and since HHI is an artifact, not a character, it doesn't count, or does HHI not get to ignore anymore?

Tackling this one first.  The clarification there is only defining how CHARACTERS ignore other characters.  This states that characters that are not in battle (such as in territory) cannot be ignoring other characters.  For example, if The Garden Tomb is out, a TGT character in territory is not ignoring any other character; it is only when they are in battle that they start ignoring.  HHI still has an ignore effect and that part is not applicable to it (as it is not a character and thus doesn't need that default condition attached).

I also believe that "Ignore" rules have changed, and the character can still enter battle, but still be ignored. Can someone else verify that?

Praecep's answer in the post above mine outlines this part of it very well, so I'll just confirm that explanation.

As to the other questions, confirming the answers already given.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal