Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 04, 2010, 04:34:31 PM
-
if player one RA's
then player 2 blocks and "interrupts the battle and removes the cards in battle from the game"
then player 1 "interrupts the battle" and bands more heroes in....
what happens? who is removed from the game? all of the heroes and ECs (old and newly banded) or just the characters that were in battle when the first interrupt was played?
-
good question. Ive always thought that even the new characters would be removed, but would this be considered retargeting? which isnt allowed unless specified. or is this the case of all means all. sounds like a sir nobody question. is all not targeting and considered a blanket effect?
-
NEW REG...
Interrupt
General Description
An interrupt ability temporarily undoes a previously completed ability or set of abilities and suspends them while
inserting other abilities on the interrupt card before the previously completed abilities reactivate.
How to Play
Interrupting an ability undoes the completion of the ability's activation only. It does not undo the beginning of the
ability's activation or the declaration of targets for the ability. The interrupted abilities go back to being pending
abilities until they reactivate.
Interrupt abilities are always paired with one or more other abilities. Once the specified abilities are interrupted
the abilities the interrupt is paired with activate. The interrupt ability completes when all of the abilities it is paired with have activated.
Reactivating Abilities
After an interrupt ability completes, the abilities that were interrupted try to reactivate. They attempt to reactive in the same order they activated originally. In order to reactivate the following conditions must be met: (1) the card the ability is on must still be in battle, (2) if the ability was on an enhancement, there must still be a character in battle that it can activate on, (3) the ability was not prevented while it was interrupted, and (4) the targets are still legal targets as per the target stipulations of the ability. If all conditions for reactivation are met and the ability
targets all of something, the targets for the ability are updated. Any new possible targets that are available when
the ability is ready to reactivate, are added as targets. The ability then reactivates.
All interrupt abilities are instantaneous. Interrupt abilities target the abilities that they interrupt. An interrupt ability
is an interrupt effect.
Special Conditions
Interrupting the battle includes interrupting all active ongoing abilities, abilities that are defeating one of
the characters you control in battle, and the last enhancement played in current battle if it was played by
your opponent. Interrupt the battle only includes such abilities if they are on cards that are in battle.
Almanac
Im a little confused here with these highlighted areas above. almost contradicting, but im sure someone can explain otherwise. Maybe just a clarification for an ability that targets all. So yes all cards in battle are removed from play.
-
sweet, thanks
-
Interrupt is essentially insertion. You interrupt one ability and do something else beforehand. In this case, you are being removed, you interupt that, insert your banding ability, and then the removal card reactivates as if it was just played.
-
so, what if the offense maintains initiative and plays several territory destruction cards, then the defense plays an interrupt the battle and remove all cards in battle from the game.... would ALL of the territory destruction cards get discarded and the effects be undone?
-
so, what if the offense maintains initiative and plays several territory destruction cards, then the defense plays an interrupt the battle and remove all cards in battle from the game.... would ALL of the territory destruction cards get discarded and the effects be undone?
Yes, unless they are CBN.
-
hmm, ok
-
No, actually. If the defense responds to a bunch of territory destruction with an ITB+Remove all, it would only Negate the last Enhancement the offense played. Now, if you Negate the banding card that brought the new characters in and the Enhancements don't match the Brigade of the character(s) in battle when the banding card was played, that would Negate them.
-
indirectly ;D