Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: galadgawyn on May 28, 2010, 06:28:54 PM

Title: increasing demons
Post by: galadgawyn on May 28, 2010, 06:28:54 PM
Remember the angel wars enhancements that increase holder's demons 3/3 or 4/4 when placed on a lost soul, that no one uses? 

If I place multiple enhancements do the benenfits stack? 

If my opponent bands to one of my demons, does the increase stay with them?
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 28, 2010, 06:32:23 PM
From what I've heard they stack. I've thought about using them now that High Places makes them useful.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: MichaelHue on May 28, 2010, 06:47:59 PM
Imagine a 13/14 Foul Spirit or a 17/19 King of Tyrus!  That could be really cool, but I'd be wary of using them just because it would mean you'd practically never have initiative.  You could do some cool stuff with evil banding, though.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: crustpope on May 28, 2010, 06:50:12 PM
Yeah, Initiative would be hard to get if you had say three or four of them out on different LS's.

A KoT (or any other Fbtn) defense might be interesting with these cards...
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Prof Underwood on May 28, 2010, 10:44:42 PM
Please post the actual wording of the special abilities.  Especially with cards that "nobody uses" :)
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: crustpope on May 28, 2010, 11:10:09 PM
Consumed by Wants
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place this card on a Lost Soul. While this card remains, holder's black brigade demons gain 4/4. • Identifiers: NT, Connected with Demons • Verse: Mark 4:19 •



I say that it is cumulative.  Each copy of the card activates and has an ongoing ability so 3 copies would increase a black brigade demon by 12/12 each.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: that one kid on May 28, 2010, 11:11:57 PM
Imagine a 13/14 Foul Spirit or a 17/19 King of Tyrus!  That could be really cool, but I'd be wary of using them just because it would mean you'd practically never have initiative.  You could do some cool stuff with evil banding, though.

The 2 texp demons, gomer, and KoT all banded with extra numbers on 3/4 all with FBTN? WIN!!
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 28, 2010, 11:12:53 PM
Don't forget to use Demonic Stronghold for some extra numbers as well.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Professoralstad on May 29, 2010, 01:22:13 AM
Consumed by Wants
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place this card on a Lost Soul. While this card remains, holder's black brigade demons gain 4/4. • Identifiers: NT, Connected with Demons • Verse: Mark 4:19 •



I say that it is cumulative.  Each copy of the card activates and has an ongoing ability so 3 copies would increase a black brigade demon by 12/12 each.

I agree. I know it has been ruled that if both Crown of Thorns and Covenant with Adam were active simultaneously, EC's in battle would decrease 0/6. I would consider this situation nearly identical. Interestingly, I believe this is one of the only ways to keep Self alive if the copied Hero is removed from play, as long as you copy an Angel (making Self a black demon).
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: galadgawyn on May 31, 2010, 07:12:37 PM
Ok they stack but what if my opponent bands to them?  I'm pretty sure that if it said "your demons" it wouldn't be in effect because of the ownership + control issue but this says "holders".  Does that make it still work?
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Gabe on May 31, 2010, 08:50:01 PM
Ok they stack but what if my opponent bands to them?  I'm pretty sure that if it said "your demons" it wouldn't be in effect because of the ownership + control issue but this says "holders".  Does that make it still work?

Quote from: REG
Holder

When the special ability of a card refers to the Holder, it means the player that activated the card. If your opponent controls one of your characters, he becomes the holder of that character for the remainder of the battle.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: crustpope on May 31, 2010, 09:39:25 PM
But consumed by wants would be read from your PoV so Consumed by Wants would not work against you if someone else banded the demons into battle.  He did not activate Consumed by wants and so the "Holder" of Consumed by wants is the one who gets the bonus.  Even his own demons used against him would not get hte bonus because until the battle is over they are nto the "holders" demons.

at least that is how I see it.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Professoralstad on June 01, 2010, 05:08:37 AM
But consumed by wants would be read from your PoV so Consumed by Wants would not work against you if someone else banded the demons into battle.  He did not activate Consumed by wants and so the "Holder" of Consumed by wants is the one who gets the bonus.  Even his own demons used against him would not get hte bonus because until the battle is over they are nto the "holders" demons.

at least that is how I see it.

I agree with this. My opponent is never the "holder" of CbW, even if he is the "holder" of my black brigade demons.
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: crustpope on June 02, 2010, 09:12:19 PM
wow, I am 2 for 2 on this thread!  Who AM  I?  What am I doing here?
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 03, 2010, 02:40:09 PM
wow, I am 2 for 2 on this thread!  Who AM  I?  What am I doing here?

Obviously not changing your son's diaper.  ;)
Title: Re: increasing demons
Post by: crustpope on June 03, 2010, 03:06:03 PM
wow, I am 2 for 2 on this thread!  Who AM  I?  What am I doing here?

Obviously not changing your son's diaper.  ;)
Lol If I remember right  you won that game so you can "thank" my son for the distraction!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal