Author Topic: immunity  (Read 1521 times)

Offline SomeKittens

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • *****
  • Posts: 8102
    • -
    • Northeast Region
immunity
« on: November 19, 2010, 07:20:37 PM »
0
I RA with James, son of Zebedee.  My opponent blocks with Red Dragon.  Who has initiative?
Mind not the ignorant fool on the other side of the screen!-BubbleBoy
Code: [Select]
postcount.add(1);

Warrior_Monk

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: immunity
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 07:24:51 PM »
+1
James.

Offline 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • I'm officially a tourney host now...yippie!
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2010, 09:50:16 PM »
+2
red dragon is immune so that makes it stalemate and the hero gets first init on stale mate...
Polar Bears Rule Teh World
Sponsered by CountFount
http://sites.google.com/site/marylandredemption

Offline SomeKittens

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • *****
  • Posts: 8102
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 09:58:54 PM »
0
red dragon is immune so that makes it stalemate and the hero gets first init on stale mate...
Thanks for explaining that one out.
Mind not the ignorant fool on the other side of the screen!-BubbleBoy
Code: [Select]
postcount.add(1);

Offline 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • I'm officially a tourney host now...yippie!
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2010, 09:59:32 PM »
0
red dragon is immune so that makes it stalemate and the hero gets first init on stale mate...
Thanks for explaining that one out.

np. An answer isn't good unless it is clear....figured i help ya out
Polar Bears Rule Teh World
Sponsered by CountFount
http://sites.google.com/site/marylandredemption

Offline Korunks

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2010, 01:23:16 PM »
+1
red dragon is immune so that makes it stalemate and the hero gets first init on stale mate...

Actually that is not quite true.  Whoever did not play the last card goes first in a stalemate.

From the Rulebook:
Quote from: RuleBook
STALEMATE – The battle is currently a stalemate when neither the Hero(es) nor the Evil Character(s) is being defeated. There are two ways for a battle to be a stalemate: by numbers or by immunity:

Stalemate by Numbers: The battle is currently a stalemate by numbers when neither the Hero(es) nor the Evil Character(s) is strong enough to defeat the opposing character(s). You have initiative and can play any good enhancement of matching brigade. If you choose not to play an enhancement, you must pass initiative to your opponent. Your opponent may play an enhancement. If your opponent chooses not to play an enhancement, he must pass initiative back to you. If your opponent passes initiative back to you, then you must play an enhancement or the Battle Phase resolves. Example: You are making a rescue attempt with Prochorus, a gold brigade Hero with abilities of 5/6. He is in battle with Philetus, a brown brigade Evil Character with abilities of 5/6. Prochorus has strength of 5 compared to Philetus who has a toughness of 6. Philetus is not being defeated. Philetus has strength of 5  compared to Prochorus who has a toughness of 6. This is a stalemate because neither character is being defeated. You have initiative because your opponent played the last card (Philetus). You may play an enhancement or, if you choose, you may pass the initiative to your opponent.

Stalemate by Immunity: The battle is a stalemate by immunity if an immune special ability is causing neither character to be defeated. You have initiative and can play any good enhancement of matching brigade. However, the special ability on the enhancement cannot be directed at an Evil Character that is immune to your Hero. Example: You are making a rescue attempt with Mary of Bethany, a gold brigade Hero with abilities of 7/5 and the special ability to “band to Martha”. You band in Martha, a green brigade Hero with abilities of 5/4. Your opponent blocks with the Beast from the Earth. This is a brown brigade Evil Character with abilities of 5/7 and the special ability that he is “immune to all female Heroes.” Mary of Bethany and Martha have a combined strength of 12 points. Beast from the Earth has a toughness of 7 points. By the numbers, your Heroes would be winning the battle,
and your opponent would have the initiative to play the first enhancement. However, Beast from the Earth is immune to all female Heroes. Since Mary of Bethany and Martha are
both female Heroes, Beast from the Earth is not being defeated even though his toughness is less than the combined strength of the Heroes. This is a stalemate by immunity.
Neither the Heroes nor the Evil Character are being defeated. Since your opponent played the last card (Beast from the Earth), you have the initiative to play the first enhancement card.

In the above situation it was ruled correctly for the wrong reason.  I f I played an enhancement on my hero that made it stalemate, the EC would play first.
In AMERICA!!

Offline 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • I'm officially a tourney host now...yippie!
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2010, 09:31:32 AM »
0
red dragon is immune so that makes it stalemate and the hero gets first init on stale mate...

Actually that is not quite true.  Whoever did not play the last card goes first in a stalemate.

From the Rulebook:
Quote from: RuleBook
STALEMATE – The battle is currently a stalemate when neither the Hero(es) nor the Evil Character(s) is being defeated. There are two ways for a battle to be a stalemate: by numbers or by immunity:

Stalemate by Numbers: The battle is currently a stalemate by numbers when neither the Hero(es) nor the Evil Character(s) is strong enough to defeat the opposing character(s). You have initiative and can play any good enhancement of matching brigade. If you choose not to play an enhancement, you must pass initiative to your opponent. Your opponent may play an enhancement. If your opponent chooses not to play an enhancement, he must pass initiative back to you. If your opponent passes initiative back to you, then you must play an enhancement or the Battle Phase resolves. Example: You are making a rescue attempt with Prochorus, a gold brigade Hero with abilities of 5/6. He is in battle with Philetus, a brown brigade Evil Character with abilities of 5/6. Prochorus has strength of 5 compared to Philetus who has a toughness of 6. Philetus is not being defeated. Philetus has strength of 5  compared to Prochorus who has a toughness of 6. This is a stalemate because neither character is being defeated. You have initiative because your opponent played the last card (Philetus). You may play an enhancement or, if you choose, you may pass the initiative to your opponent.

Stalemate by Immunity: The battle is a stalemate by immunity if an immune special ability is causing neither character to be defeated. You have initiative and can play any good enhancement of matching brigade. However, the special ability on the enhancement cannot be directed at an Evil Character that is immune to your Hero. Example: You are making a rescue attempt with Mary of Bethany, a gold brigade Hero with abilities of 7/5 and the special ability to “band to Martha”. You band in Martha, a green brigade Hero with abilities of 5/4. Your opponent blocks with the Beast from the Earth. This is a brown brigade Evil Character with abilities of 5/7 and the special ability that he is “immune to all female Heroes.” Mary of Bethany and Martha have a combined strength of 12 points. Beast from the Earth has a toughness of 7 points. By the numbers, your Heroes would be winning the battle,
and your opponent would have the initiative to play the first enhancement. However, Beast from the Earth is immune to all female Heroes. Since Mary of Bethany and Martha are
both female Heroes, Beast from the Earth is not being defeated even though his toughness is less than the combined strength of the Heroes. This is a stalemate by immunity.
Neither the Heroes nor the Evil Character are being defeated. Since your opponent played the last card (Beast from the Earth), you have the initiative to play the first enhancement card.

In the above situation it was ruled correctly for the wrong reason.  I f I played an enhancement on my hero that made it stalemate, the EC would play first.

right but in this situation he didn't say any enhancement was played...
Polar Bears Rule Teh World
Sponsered by CountFount
http://sites.google.com/site/marylandredemption

Offline Korunks

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2010, 12:16:01 PM »
0
Placing an EC in battle is considered playing a card. :)
In AMERICA!!

Offline 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • I'm officially a tourney host now...yippie!
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2010, 12:24:12 PM »
0
Placing an EC in battle is considered playing a card. :)

why are we debating on something we're agreeing on? xp
Polar Bears Rule Teh World
Sponsered by CountFount
http://sites.google.com/site/marylandredemption

Offline Korunks

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2271
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2010, 03:40:02 PM »
+2
Because I am stubborn. :D
In AMERICA!!

Offline 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips

  • Tournament Host
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • I'm officially a tourney host now...yippie!
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: immunity
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2010, 09:24:44 AM »
-1
Because I am stubborn. :D

me too by nature xp *is a taurus*
Polar Bears Rule Teh World
Sponsered by CountFount
http://sites.google.com/site/marylandredemption

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal