Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Scoobug on April 12, 2012, 09:42:03 PM

Title: I think I broke the game!
Post by: Scoobug on April 12, 2012, 09:42:03 PM
Ok so, Angel of Revelation is set aside by Witness to Creation and upon return does a rescue attempt. He is blocked by a demon who bands to a human and his special ability says that the band cannot be prevented. So Angel of Revelation cannot be blocked by the human, but the action of banding the human into battle cannot be stopped. What happens? I hope the game isn't broken!
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: Drrek on April 12, 2012, 09:44:22 PM
You did not break the game.  The angel ignores the human evil character, so the evil character cannot enter battle.  It is not preventing the band, it is ignoring the character which stops the band.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: lp670sv on April 12, 2012, 09:45:23 PM
Cannot be blocked by is the same as saying ignore. The banding isn't being prevented but the character is being ignored so the band still can't happen.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: Scoobug on April 12, 2012, 10:09:46 PM
Oh, thank you! That makes sense.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: megamanlan on April 12, 2012, 10:24:38 PM
And CBP only means that if I I'd use like The Strong Angel, your effect ( the one that can't be prevented) still works. But that does not stop Ignoring or me Negating it after you play the effect.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: Scoobug on April 13, 2012, 10:34:00 AM
Ok, CBP can be negated and CBN can be prevented. They are two entirely different things.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: Praeceps on April 13, 2012, 10:52:24 AM
Ok, CBP can be negated and CBN can be prevented. They are two entirely different things.

CBP can not be stopped before it happens. CBN can not be stopped ever.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: browarod on April 13, 2012, 10:57:27 AM
Ok, CBP can be negated and CBN can be prevented. They are two entirely different things.
That is slightly incorrect:
Cannot be prevented can only be interrupted/negated and only after it's played.
Cannot be interrupted can only be prevented/negated and only before it's played.
Cannot be negated cannot be interrupted, prevented, or negated before or after it's played.
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: STAMP on April 13, 2012, 01:40:34 PM
Ok, CBP can be negated and CBN can be prevented. They are two entirely different things.
That is slightly incorrect:
CBP can only be interrupted/negated and only after it's played.
CBI can only be prevented/negated and only before it's played.
CBN cannot be interrupted, prevented, or negated before or after it's played.

FTFY.  Using the actual words is just plain misleading.  ;)
Title: Re: I think I broke the game!
Post by: megamanlan on April 13, 2012, 02:05:13 PM
Yea, it takes time to understand it...
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal