Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: juhnkect on July 01, 2009, 03:39:38 PM

Title: Hormah
Post by: juhnkect on July 01, 2009, 03:39:38 PM
When I use Seven Sons of Sceva to get an orange dude from my discard pile... am I discarding Seven Sons? And would that meet the requirement to activate the S/A on Hormah? or Torment?

Seven Sons of Sceva: Negate and discard Three Nails.  You may exchange this Evil Character with an orange brigade demon in discard pile.  Cannot be prevented by a good card.

Hormah: If your human Evil Character is discarded, you may place this Site and its contents beneath owner's deck.

Torment: Heal any Evil Character that is being discarded, except by a dominant.




Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: TimMierz on July 01, 2009, 03:42:45 PM
7 Sons are not being discarded, they're going into the discard pile by other means. Hormah and Torment don't honor being exchanged into the pile, they need to be a target of discard by special ability or game rule (losing battle, reaching */0, etc.).
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Prof Underwood on July 01, 2009, 05:06:04 PM
Quote from: REG
Discard is removing a card from its current location and placing it face up on the top of the discard pile. A card may be dis­carded from a player’s hand, draw pile, set-aside area, or Field of Play.
Based on this quote, I think 7 Sons is discarded, and it would trigger Hormah.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 01, 2009, 05:07:43 PM
Maybe, but only if the Demon exchanged for was on the top of the Discard Pile.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 01, 2009, 05:32:41 PM
Even then, though, it is being exchanged not placed.

I don't think an exception should be allowed even in that unlikely case.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Gabe on July 01, 2009, 05:34:24 PM
Quote from: REG
Discard is removing a card from its current location and placing it face up on the top of the discard pile. A card may be dis­carded from a player’s hand, draw pile, set-aside area, or Field of Play.
Based on this quote, I think 7 Sons is discarded, and it would trigger Hormah.

Tim is correct.  This has been ruled on before.

Prof, where did you find that REG quote?  It seems to me like you're trying to compare apples and oranges here.  SSoS is an exchange card.  Nothing about it is discarded when the SA is used.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 01, 2009, 05:36:51 PM
Prof, where did you find that REG quote?  It seems to me like you're trying to compare apples and oranges here.  SSoS is an exchange card.  Nothing about it is discarded when the SA is used.

That is the definition of discard from the Glossary in the rulebook.

I agree that it does not apply since this an exchange.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Prof Underwood on July 01, 2009, 10:41:32 PM
That is the definition of discard from the Glossary in the rulebook.
It is indeed the definition of discard.  And if something fits the definition of discard, then it should be considered discarded (even if what caused it to happen is an exchange).

I don't really care about this ruling, so if Schaef or Bryon want to go the other way with it, then I won't fight for it.  But I think an intuitive reading of the glossary would indicate that my interpretation is possible.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: The Schaef on July 01, 2009, 11:00:15 PM
If exchange is not band, I would say exchange is not discard either.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Master KChief on July 01, 2009, 11:11:14 PM
banding doesnt require you to put something in the discard pile.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Gabe on July 02, 2009, 12:00:21 AM
banding doesnt require you to put something in the discard pile.

It seems like you have nothing better to do that harras The Schaef on any thread that he posts.  Seriously, how does your comment add to this discussion?
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Master KChief on July 02, 2009, 12:09:42 AM
banding doesnt require you to put something in the discard pile.

It seems like you have nothing better to do that harras The Schaef on any thread that he posts.  Seriously, how does your comment add to this discussion?

are you serious? im trying to draw a parallel here because im honestly not seeing one. banding doesnt equal discarding, natch. dont be so quick to judge someones motives when i made a perfectly legitimate assertion.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: juhnkect on July 02, 2009, 12:12:41 AM
banding doesnt require you to put something in the discard pile.
hahaha.. that doesn't even make sense. definitely a misrepresentation of everything that was said.


To me, it would make sense that anything that goes to the discard pile is discarded. Things in the discard pile are in a state of "discardedness".. right? so to go from play to your discard pile, SSoS enters that state of "discardedness"... meaning it was discarded?

...that was a little confusing, and repetitive... but I think it has a logical flow.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Master KChief on July 02, 2009, 12:16:48 AM
banding doesnt require you to put something in the discard pile.
hahaha.. that doesn't even make sense. definitely a misrepresentation of everything that was said.


feel free to prove to me how banding does equal discarding.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Gabe on July 02, 2009, 12:17:31 AM
Your reputation precedes you.  If you hadn't harassed him many times before I wouldn't just assume you're doing it again.

The point of his statement is that Redemption special abilities are categorized.  Exchange is no more a discard ability than it is a banding ability or an ignore ability or a set aside ability.  Just because the card ends up in the discard pile doesn't mean it was discarded unless it got there by means of a discard ability.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Master KChief on July 02, 2009, 12:24:56 AM
Your reputation precedes you.  If you hadn't harassed him many times before I wouldn't just assume you're doing it again.

subjective...i could easily say he harasses me. i've already stated i made an honest comment. furthermore, i dont have to prove my motives to you or anyone else. enough digressing. moving on.

Quote
The point of his statement is that Redemption special abilities are categorized.  Exchange is no more a discard ability than it is a banding ability or an ignore ability or a set aside ability.  Just because the card ends up in the discard pile doesn't mean it was discarded unless it got there by means of a discard ability.

thank you for clearing that up. even so, ssos falls under the stipulations prof supplied by definition of discard. personally, i think if you satisfy those conditions, then it is legitimately 'discard' as well as 'exchange'...no one said it has to be exclusive from the other.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Kevin Shride on July 02, 2009, 07:11:32 AM
Quote
even so, ssos falls under the stipulations prof supplied by definition of discard.
I disagree.  Again, as Gabe said, just because something winds up in the discard pile doesn't mean it was discarded.  If it got there by means of a special ability that did not say to discard it, then it was not truly discarded, and wouldn't trigger Hormah.  SSOS does not say to discard it; it says to exchange it.  Ergo, it was never discarded.  Now, if you block with SSOS, do not use his ability, and then play Deceit of Sapphira, obviously that triggers Hormah.

See the difference?

Kevin Shride
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Professoralstad on July 02, 2009, 11:04:50 AM
So then would a character who is exchanged with a set-aside character have been set-aside? So would Watcher shuffle a Seven Wicked Spirits who was exchanged for another set-aside character and then came back to territory? SWS was in set-aside area, but was never technically set aside, just as SSoS was never technically discarded. Perhaps it is a different scenario, but it is an interesting point of note.


Seven Wicked Spirits
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Orange • Ability: 7 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may interrupt all Fortresses and exchange this Evil Character with any other Evil Character in play or set-aside area. • Identifiers: Generic NT Male Demon • Verse: Luke 11:26 • Availability: Faith of Fathers (Set 8 )


Watcher
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 4 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: If an Evil Character was or is currently set-aside, shuffle that Evil Character back into Owner's draw pile. Discard the set-aside card. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Angel, Prophet • Verse: Daniel 4:23 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Uncommon)

Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Captain Kirk on July 02, 2009, 11:33:16 AM
Also, I don't recall if a verdict was ever reached, if 7WS switches for an Evil Character that gains a counter each turn (eg. Large Tree), does 7WS gain the counters in place or does it reach a standstill with 7WS just chilling with the set aside enhancement, doing nothing?

Kirk
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Professoralstad on July 02, 2009, 12:01:15 PM
I'm not too sure about it either, but since several cards can return a character from set-aside area, I decided to avoid that question for this thread.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 03, 2009, 01:33:17 AM
I believe Tim said that it doesn't gain counters since it wasn't the one set-aside.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: SirNobody on July 03, 2009, 06:10:53 PM
Hey,

So then would a character who is exchanged with a set-aside character have been set-aside? So would Watcher shuffle a Seven Wicked Spirits who was exchanged for another set-aside character and then came back to territory? SWS was in set-aside area, but was never technically set aside, just as SSoS was never technically discarded. Perhaps it is a different scenario, but it is an interesting point of note.

Seven Wicked Spirits was not set-aside, but it was in the set-aside area.  Which makes the question tricky because it's not clear to me if "is currently set-aside" means "is currently in the set-aside area" or "is currently being affected by a set-aside card."  The last sentence of Watcher suggests to me that it means the latter of the two options so Watcher could not affect Seven Wicked Spirits.

Also, I don't recall if a verdict was ever reached, if 7WS switches for an Evil Character that gains a counter each turn (eg. Large Tree), does 7WS gain the counters in place or does it reach a standstill with 7WS just chilling with the set aside enhancement, doing nothing?

In that sort of situation the set-aside enhancement is discarded when the character it was originally set aside with leaves the set-aside area.  Seven Wicked Spirits then is just chilling in the set-aside area not under the effect of any set-aside card and can be brought back to the players territory by game rule during any of their preparation phases.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Captain Kirk on July 03, 2009, 07:12:13 PM
In that sort of situation the set-aside enhancement is discarded when the character it was originally set aside with leaves the set-aside area.  Seven Wicked Spirits then is just chilling in the set-aside area not under the effect of any set-aside card and can be brought back to the players territory by game rule during any of their preparation phases.

I agree with you that the enhancement is discarded, I just forgot about that at first.  However, are you certain that a character in the set-aside area not under the effect of any set-asde card can be brought back to the player's territory by game rule during prep phase?  Before 7WS, I don't know if this was even a possibility, for a character to be in set aside area without a setaside card.  However, if you are saying this is the case, if I previously set aside my opponent's two human evil characters with Two Possessed by Demons, and on a subsequent block, I switch with my 7WS for one of them, my opponent then can return the 7WS to his territory?

Kirk
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 03, 2009, 07:19:49 PM
I would say yes, And actually With Kerith Ravine it is possible to have a character in set-aside without a Set-Aside card. Because you can bring that character from KR back at any time I would say 7WS, not under any set-aside card could come back during any prep phase.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Captain Kirk on July 03, 2009, 07:23:38 PM
I knew I was forgetting some important card.  :doh:

Kirk
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 03, 2009, 07:34:31 PM
I knew I was forgetting some important card.  :doh:

Kirk

I don't know Important may be a slight stretch. I would call it a 'Precedent' card.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: SirNobody on July 03, 2009, 07:35:35 PM
Hey,

However, are you certain that a character in the set-aside area not under the effect of any set-asde card can be brought back to the player's territory by game rule during prep phase?

This exact topic was discussed by Mike B and I during the drafting process of the next REG.  That is the decision we came to and that is how it is stated in the current version of the next REG.  Unfortunately the next REG will not be out before nationals, and Mike won't be judging nationals, so I guess it's possible that Bryon might rule otherwise.

Quote
Before 7WS, I don't know if this was even a possibility, for a character to be in set aside area without a setaside card.

Right, the existing REG entry is written before it was possible for that situation to occur, it was also written before there were any non-enhancements that could set character aside.

Quote
However, if you are saying this is the case, if I previously set aside my opponent's two human evil characters with Two Possessed by Demons, and on a subsequent block, I switch with my 7WS for one of them, my opponent then can return the 7WS to his territory?


Correct.

Kerith Ravine

How dare you bring THAT card into this discussion! :P

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 03, 2009, 07:40:16 PM
I only bring it up because it cost me a shot at MN state against you. Without that time out loss, I play one of the one loss or undefeated players next with only one loss myself and I've beaten Chris with the deck and Its very reliable.
Title: Re: Hormah
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 03, 2009, 09:55:54 PM
Kereth Ravine is definitely a set-aside card. It's just not a set-aside Enhancement.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal