Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemption collector 777 on June 05, 2018, 04:54:46 AM
-
High Priest Ananias SA: Sadducees in battle ignore angels.
Beast from the Sea SA: If an opponent uses a draw or search ability (except on an evil card) you may topdeck a N.T Lost soul.
Lost Soul (Dull) SA : During battle , if opponent uses a good special ability to look , reveal or search ,you may search your deck for an evil character or evil enhancement.
Example A player has HPA in territory and one sadducce in battle blocking an angel (which is currently ignoring by HPA ability.)
Then rescuing player with the angel converts HPA in territory to a hero.
1. Does HPA ignore ability still work or is the sadducee in battle no longer ignoring the angel in battle because HPA is a hero now??
Example a player has Dull LS and Beast from the Sea in territory. Then rescuing player goes for a RA and uses a good search ability.
2. Can the blocking player trigger LS dull's ability (search for an evil enhancement) and then after the Dull Lost soul is complete , then
topdeck it with Beast from the Sea??
or does Beast from the Sea have to complete it's ability before Dull Lost soul can trigger??
-
1. That portion of HPA’s ability doesn’t convert. Since it’s an on-going ability that is no longer active then the Sadducee is no longer ignoring the Angel.
2. They both can be used as they are both pending abilities. Character abilities activate first over other card types so Dull would be topdecked but the trigger condition for Dull was already met, occurred in the same phase and wasn’t negated. So once the top deck is complete you can use Dull’s search ability.
-
The result is basically correct but the answer to #2 might give some misleading information.
When multiple cards controlled by the same player are triggered by one event the controller of those cards can choose the order to use them. So you can choose to Dull first and Beast second resulting in Dull being on top of deck (not shuffled in by its own search).
If the Beast is used first, optional triggers that leave play cease to be active (even though they aren’t negated) so you don’t get to Dull.
I was able to confirm all this in the REG under triggered effects but it’s impractical for me to quote the relevant sections from my phone.
-
The result is basically correct but the answer to #2 might give some misleading information.
When multiple cards controlled by the same player are triggered by one event the controller of those cards can choose the order to use them. So you can choose to Dull first and Beast second resulting in Dull being on top of deck (not shuffled in by its own search).
If the Beast is used first, optional triggers that leave play cease to be active (even though they aren’t negated) so you don’t get to Dull.
I was able to confirm all this in the REG under triggered effects but it’s impractical for me to quote the relevant sections from my phone.
My initial response was going to be that the holder chooses the activation in the event two triggered abilities are trying to activate at the same time, but I was thinking that characters activate first. I got characters’ abilities in battle activate first crossed with supporting characters (like Beast).
Regarding optional triggers, there was discussion on the forum a few months ago that if Golden Cherubim was removed from play, and the opponent used a draw ability in the same phase that GC’s search ability could be triggered. I argued that it couldn’t be but was told otherwise. This was all pre-REG 5.0 so I don’t know if the REG was updated with a change to this or not, or if the person(s) on the forum made a mistake.
-
The result is basically correct but the answer to #2 might give some misleading information.
When multiple cards controlled by the same player are triggered by one event the controller of those cards can choose the order to use them. So you can choose to Dull first and Beast second resulting in Dull being on top of deck (not shuffled in by its own search).
If the Beast is used first, optional triggers that leave play cease to be active (even though they aren’t negated) so you don’t get to Dull.
I was able to confirm all this in the REG under triggered effects but it’s impractical for me to quote the relevant sections from my phone.
My initial response was going to be that the holder chooses the activation in the event two triggered abilities are trying to activate at the same time, but I was thinking that characters activate first. I got characters’ abilities in battle activate first crossed with supporting characters (like Beast).
Regarding optional triggers, there was discussion on the forum a few months ago that if Golden Cherubim was removed from play, and the opponent used a draw ability in the same phase that GC’s search ability could be triggered. I argued that it couldn’t be but was told otherwise. This was all pre-REG 5.0 so I don’t know if the REG was updated with a change to this or not, or if the person(s) on the forum made a mistake.
Well, I was told that an ongoing ability persists to the end of the phase unless it was Negated. Is this not correct?
-
Well, I was told that an ongoing ability persists to the end of the phase unless it was Negated. Is this not correct?
In a general sense it's correct, but not explicitly.
Here is the relevant portion of the REG I wasn't able to quote this morning.
Mandatory triggered effects that are not negated persist at least until the end of the current phase, even if the card leaves play or set aside, unless otherwise specified on the card. If the event that triggers a triggered effect deactivates the ability without interrupting or negating it, then the triggered effect can still be activated. Otherwise, optional triggered effects may only be activated while the card it is on is controlled by the holder and is either in play, Land of Redemption or set-aside area.