Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Daniel TS RED on December 05, 2010, 10:33:54 PM

Title: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Daniel TS RED on December 05, 2010, 10:33:54 PM
Harvest Time (P)
Type: Lamb • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: If your opponent has no Lost Soul in play, search their draw pile for a Lost Soul and put it into their territory. Shuffle that draw pile. • Play As: If your opponent has no Lost Soul in play, search opponent’s deck for a Lost Soul and place in opponent’s Land of Bondage. • Identifiers: None • Verse: John 4:35 • Availability: Promotional cards (2006 Tournament Winner)

You bc with a hero, they block with an archer and dc one of your heros in territory. They then say, "I die". So it's just your hero left in battle. Can you play HT and get the LS, or is the battle over and too late?
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on December 05, 2010, 10:35:46 PM
Tricky situation. If you agree that they die, you can't play it. Of that I'm 100% sure. (Well, you can, but you can't rescue it).

However, I see no reason you're not allowed to play HT if you haven't agreed the battle is over.
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 05, 2010, 10:38:48 PM
If you play Harvest Time, then they have the choice to continue the block. The defender should ask for initiative first, in a tournament setting, at which time you could announce your intention to play HT. You have the right to play a dominant before they "die."
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 05, 2010, 10:47:20 PM
If you play Harvest Time, then they have the choice to continue the block. The defender should ask for initiative first, in a tournament setting, at which time you could announce your intention to play HT. You have the right to play a dominant before they "die."

So HT after the character is discarded doesn't work? Cause this'd be broken xp well kinda
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 05, 2010, 11:03:58 PM
What I am saying is that the blocking player should have asked for initiative first. You have to have initiative before you can pass initiative, which is what the blocking player was trying to do. If they had asked for initiative, the rescuing player could have played HT.

If the blocking player asked for initiative and the rescuing player granted it, then the blocking player can pass initiative to end the battle. At that point, HT can not be played to continue the battle (which is what Sauce was talking about).
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Minister Polarius on December 06, 2010, 02:25:58 AM
If someone blocks you and says "I die" when you were about to do something, just say "no you don't" and play it. Any Judge worth his salt will back you up if the blocking player protests.
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Professoralstad on December 06, 2010, 10:40:41 AM
If someone blocks you and says "I die" when you were about to do something, just say "no you don't" and play it. Any Judge worth his salt will back you up if the blocking player protests.

+1
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Daniel TS RED on December 06, 2010, 10:52:20 AM
ok, what happens if they decline the bc and don't block at all. Can you play HT and get a free LS? Or say, well I was going to play HT. How would that work then?
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Professoralstad on December 06, 2010, 11:59:42 AM
ok, what happens if they decline the bc and don't block at all. Can you play HT and get a free LS? Or say, well I was going to play HT. How would that work then?

As long as your Hero is still in battle, then you can play HT. They then get to choose to block or not, even if they had declined before. Once you retreat your Hero from battle, battle is over.
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 06, 2010, 12:01:07 PM
ok, what happens if they decline the bc and don't block at all. Can you play HT and get a free LS? Or say, well I was going to play HT. How would that work then?

As long as your Hero is still in battle, then you can play HT. They then get to choose to block or not, even if they had declined before. Once you retreat your Hero from battle, battle is over.

wait, in that case, can you BC, they chose not to block, then you play HT.... then get a free lost soul?
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Professoralstad on December 06, 2010, 12:24:19 PM
Only if they choose not to block again, and don't do anything with the LS. Declining a battle challenge has no effect on whether or not you can block if the BC becomes an RA.
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 06, 2010, 12:25:31 PM
ok, that makes sense
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: The M on December 06, 2010, 12:32:54 PM
Harvest Time (P)
Type: Lamb • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: If your opponent has no Lost Soul in play, search their draw pile for a Lost Soul and put it into their territory. Shuffle that draw pile. • Play As: If your opponent has no Lost Soul in play, search opponent’s deck for a Lost Soul and place in opponent’s Land of Bondage. • Identifiers: None • Verse: John 4:35 • Availability: Promotional cards (2006 Tournament Winner)

You bc with a hero, they block with an archer and dc one of your heros in territory. They then say, "I die". So it's just your hero left in battle. Can you play HT and get the LS, or is the battle over and too late?
wait, is this whole thing about an archer or a character that just "dies"?
because the archers special ability says to discard it after battle so the battle would have to be resolved before it "I dies".
you couldn't keep your character in battle because the resolution of the battle would cause your hero to go back to territory, the archer would die, you could play harvest time, but your couldn't try to go for that lost soul because your hero was out of battle.
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 06, 2010, 10:36:32 PM
no- question was answered
Title: Re: Harvest Time Question
Post by: TheJaylor on December 06, 2010, 10:47:11 PM
ok, what happens if they decline the bc and don't block at all. Can you play HT and get a free LS? Or say, well I was going to play HT. How would that work then?

As long as your Hero is still in battle, then you can play HT. They then get to choose to block or not, even if they had declined before. Once you retreat your Hero from battle, battle is over.

wait, in that case, can you BC, they chose not to block, then you play HT.... then get a free lost soul?
yeah basically you get to decide to block the BC but then if they make it a RA with HT then you get to choose whether or not you want to block the RA. so you get to decide each time it switches from RA to BC
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal