Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on January 21, 2011, 04:35:21 PM
-
1.
If my opponent has less than 3 cards in deck (or 9 with a Samaritan), am I still allowed to use SWJ to set them aside to get any Lost Souls put in play? Answered.
2. When the cards return to deck, how do they return? I.E.: Are they shuffled or do they return in the exact order they were in before (minus any Souls, of course)? Answered.
3. It doesn't specify a time, so do you have to discard and use it as soon as you activate it? Or can I save it as sort of a Harvest Time for battle in case my opponent uses Burial or SoG/NJ on the shuffler to empty their territory of Lost Souls? Answered.
Samaritan Water Jar
Type: Artifact • Special Ability: Discard this card to reveal the top 3 cards of an opponent's deck (or 9 if a Samaritan Hero is in play) and set them aside. Put Lost Souls in play instead. When that deck has no cards, return those cards from set-aside to deck.
-
1. Yes. This is a case when "do as much as you can" directly applies.
2. This I have always been not completely sure of, but I have always played that they are shuffled. Considering several T2 decks have 3 copies of SWJ and can set aside up to 27 cards, I sure hope I don't have to remember the exact order they were set aside in.
-
1. Yes.
2. I would say if possible, return them in the same order (just 3 would be easy). If there is uncertainty, (i.e. 27 cards like ProfA mentioned) I would rule they should be shuffled.
I doubt it's documented anywhere, but I do remember at one point a ruling was made that if more than 3 cards are returned to deck all at once* (i.e. negating multiple Draw 3 cards) then the deck is shuffled.
I specify "all at once" because this would not apply to cards like Words of Discouragement or Book of Hozai.
-
1. That's what I thought.
2. So same order if it can easily be remembered, and shuffle otherwise? Okay, I can live with that.
Thanks!
EDIT: New question.
3. It doesn't specify a time, so do you have to discard and use it as soon as you activate it? Or can I save it as sort of a Harvest Time for battle in case my opponent uses Burial or SoG/NJ on the shuffler to empty their territory of Lost Souls?
-
3. Artifacts abilities take place once they are activated. So, when you flip up SWJ, you read what it says. Since the discard is not optional, it happens right away. Some Artifacts either specify a different time when the action can be performed, have an optional ability, or both. In those cases, you don't have to perform the action right away, if at all. But with Arts like SWJ and Stalks of Flax, you have to discard as soon as they are activated.
-
Okay. I knew most of that, I just wasn't sure for this particular artifact.
Thanks again!
-
Unless there actually is a rule on "more than three returned at once," the person who played SWJ should get to chose the order. That's how the ruling is on every other card like it (revealer, Susanna, etc.).
-
Unless there actually is a rule on "more than three returned at once," the person who played SWJ should get to chose the order. That's how the ruling is on every other card like it (revealer, Susanna, etc.).
That's an interesting point, and I could agree with that argument.
-
I don't believe #2 question was rubber stamped yet--could we get a final answer for it please? (and a million dollars? or whatever that wants to be a millionaire show says)
Thanks! :)
-
Return to deck = shuffle unless is specifies a location in the deck (ex: top or bottom). The cards returned from SWJ are always shuffled.
When a card is returned to a deck that deck is shuffled.
-
Aha, Thank you! :)