Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: cookie monster on April 17, 2012, 08:59:05 PM
-
What happens if both players have 4 lost sols and one player rescues the 2 liner (witch is already half rescued)? Does it count as a win for both players? or does the player who rescued it get the win?
And has anybody ran into this situation before?
Thank you
God Bless!
-
This is much less likely with the new rule that you can't rescue from your own land of bondage. However, if it does happen, it is a 5-5 tie. :)
-
I just finished a game and it came very close to happening, he rescued it, and then swiched it using the switcher (I think it is called the wanderer). ;D
-
It happens, I agree w/ Ken on how it ends.
-
What if it was the last round of a touney nd both players were tied in the tourney? who wins the whole thing?
-
It would go to head-to head wins.
-
I think it goes to a bonus round or the next LS wins. I'm not sure though, they may just tie the game there.
-
It would go to head-to head wins.
but they tied head to head.
-
It would go to head-to head wins.
but they tied head to head.
What? ???
-
It would go to head-to head wins.
but they tied head to head.
Oh ok. He didn't say that.
-
What if it was the last round of a touney nd both players were tied in the tourney? who wins the whole thing?
If this were a Swiss style tournament (assumption based on prevalence), then it would go to LS differential over the tournament. If that is tied and all other tie-breakers are tied, and this is for first place, I think another round is called. Not sure though.
-
What if it was the last round of a touney nd both players were tied in the tourney? who wins the whole thing?
If this were a Swiss style tournament (assumption based on prevalence), then it would go to LS differential over the tournament. If that is tied and all other tie-breakers are tied, and this is for first place, I think another round is called. Not sure though.
I'm relatively certain that there's no actual protocol for this. If both players agree that one gets RNRS points and the other gets prizes, then that settles that as far as I'm concerned (and we've done that at our own tournaments). If there's a dispute? I'd say they play another head-to-head match for the title, and if that one is tied, both players are taken outside and shot, but that may just be conjecture.
-
Actually, there is protocol for this. They'd split the prizes/RNRS for 1st and 2nd, and the next guy down takes 3rd. I'll wait for someone else to cite that, but I'm positive that's how it works.
And that someone else is me. Boom. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/official-tournaments/tournament-tie-breakers/msg252511/#msg252511) A few years old, but it hasn't been overturned AFAIK
It also answers the original question (you play to 6), but I'm not sure if that's been changed since.
-
It also answers the original question (you play to 6), but I'm not sure if that's been changed since.
I actually read that to be that if one side goes over 5 and the other does not, but they reach 5, it is still technically a tie, but it is broken by the person getting 6 in that ridiculous series of events winning.
-
Yeah - I suppose that makes more sense.
-
Wow Cronic, I love ur way, we have some more fun, if the second game doesn't go well, we send them to the moon, on fireworks. It's fun! I love the old Western style!
-
Wait, if I rescue half of the two-liner in a multi-player game and then someone else rescues the other half we both get one?
-
Wait, if I rescue half of the two-liner in a multi-player game and then someone else rescues the other half we both get one?
Yes.
-
My younger bro did that and everyone had 4 souls and he had rescued a half of the 2 liner and his opponent attacked the player who had the half rescued 2 liner and he had one other soul in play. My bro played Burial on the owner of the 2 liner's other soul so all there was to rescue was the 2 liner. My bro forced a tie against this guy. Weird game.
-
Yea ive done the same type of thing. I was attacked by my opponent and we both had 4, i rescued half of his two-liner earlier. I didnt have anything to do that would cause a successful block so i sent. In. Nebusaban ( the babylonian that switches souls) and i switched for his two liner and gave it to him to force a tie. Better than a loss. We ended up tieing for first and split the two prizes for first and second.
-
Yea ive done the same type of thing. I was attacked by my opponent and we both had 4, i rescued half of his two-liner earlier. I didnt have anything to do that would cause a successful block so i sent. In. Nebusaban ( the babylonian that switches souls) and i switched for his two liner and gave it to him to force a tie. Better than a loss. We ended up tieing for first and split the two prizes for first and second.
That is awesome! ;D ;D ;D :rollin: :rollin: :rollin: :rollin: :rollin: :rollin:
-
Cool lol.
-
The only way to tie for first in a 2-Player category is to have equal records, equal LS differential, and equal head to head records (i.e. either a tie, or did not play). It is not very common (I've never been to a tournament when that occurred for a 2-Player event) but it happens fairly often in multiplayer categories (where head-to-head doesn't matter).
-
The only way to tie for first in a 2-Player category is to have equal records, equal LS differential, and equal head to head records (i.e. either a tie, or did not play). It is not very common (I've never been to a tournament when that occurred for a 2-Player event) but it happens fairly often in multiplayer categories (where head-to-head doesn't matter).
I've had one happen in a T2 2P tournament. Perfect 3-way tie for first. All games involved ended 7-6 with a circular pattern of who-beat-who.
-
We won't even bring up virtually every ROOT tournament of the last six months.
-
Well, does that mean we can take some vacation and have some target practice? (lol)
Yeah, ROOT has that 'problem' it happened once at a tournament I was at, I think... Scott or Ken might know better then I do.