Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DDiceRC on September 06, 2009, 01:57:41 PM
-
A situation from the NJ local this past weekend:
Jon makes a RA with Angel at Jerusalem (2/2). I block with Emperor Galba (10/1). Situation is mutual destruction, but I have Rome active, so Galba has first strike. Jon's initiative. He plays The Fifth Seal to reduce all ECs in play by 5/5, making Galba 5/-4. I can neither negate nor get my toughness up into positive integers (or positive irrational numbers, for that matter). So which of the following happens?
1) Galba kills AaJ with First Strike, denying the rescue, then dies from his negative toughness.
2) This is mutual destruction, so AaJ makes the rescue while dying.
The first strike timing is what had us baffled. The ruling at the table was #2. Were we right?
-
The correct ruling is #1. Characters with 0 or negative toughness are not discarded during the battle phase, so Galba would survive the battle then die in the discard phase.
-
#1 is correct.