Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on May 08, 2012, 11:27:44 PM
-
In case you're not sure:
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 5 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search own draw pile or discard pile for one Bible icon with no special abilities. Holder may play the next enhancement card. • Play As: Search your deck or discard pile for one Bible icon with no special abilities and return it in hand. Holder may play an enhancement. • Identifiers: NT Male Human • Verse: Acts 8:27 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Uncommon)
So here's my question:
It seems to me that the general consensus is that as soon as Ethiopian Treasurer enters battle, BEFORE it is blocked, you immediately play an Enhancement if you so wish. Here's my beef with that: it strikes me that the timing of the playing of the Enhancement is unimportant. Even when my opponent blocks, am I not able to choose to play an Enhancement THEN? It's still the next Enhancement, and the special ability is still active, so can't I play an Enhancement after I am blocked?
Or am I completely crazy?
-
Here's my beef with that: it strikes me that the timing of the playing of the Enhancement is unimportant. Even when my opponent blocks, am I not able to choose to play an Enhancement THEN? It's still the next Enhancement, and the special ability is still active, so can't I play an Enhancement after I am blocked?
Or am I completely crazy?
Sorry, you can't play once blocked, and here's why.
The ability must complete entirely, and the way it is worded it is an instant 'play enhancement' ability. That part of the ability triggers, and you either use it then or it does not happen. It is the same thing as what happens when a character that says "heal a character" enters battle. You don't get to 'save' the heal for later, it activates that moment. Use it or lose it.
There are cards that have wording like "when blocker is presented, you may play the first enhancement". That gives a specific time when you can play the enhancement. You can't play one pre-block, but you may once the block is made (after all EC SA go off).
So that's the crux of it. The timing of the ability is "Use it now, right now, as I enter battle or you can't do it anymore".
Does that make sense?
-
I was worried about that.
I guess my wishful thinking overstepped my reasoning after all.
Thank you very much, Redoubter.
-
Yep, sorry to be a downer ;)
Note what I said though about it activated when he entered battle. No matter how he enters battle, at that moment you can use his ability to play an enhancement. It just has to activate when he enters battle.
-
+1 it is a pity though, it would make ET even crazier then.
-
+1 it is a pity though, it would make ET even crazier then.
I dunno, ET playing AoC Promo is pretty crazy, especially in T1 where Protection Forts are scarce.
-
+1 it is a pity though, it would make ET even crazier then.
I dunno, ET playing AoC Promo is pretty crazy, especially in T1 where Protection Forts are scarce.
I don't think its that crazy in T1. It would be if anyone actually played defense, but as it is, the few characters people have tend to stay safe in their hands in T1. I actually think its way better in type II, provided you have some way to kill protect forts (such as ASA, Razor, Forest Fire, etc.)