Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master Q on April 12, 2013, 12:49:12 PM

Title: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Master Q on April 12, 2013, 12:49:12 PM
Isaiah attacks and is blocked by a Herod. Visions starts a side battle between that Herod and another EC. The Herod has initiative and plays Escape to Egypt, causing Isaiah to withdraw. Does this work? Does Isaiah get initiative to negate it at any point? Side battles are my worst subject. :P

Escape to Egypt- "Opponent must withdraw 2 Heroes from battle and place a good Dominant from hand beneath deck. Cannot be prevented if used by a Herod."
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Mageduckey on April 12, 2013, 01:35:21 PM
I think "from battle" means the current battle only, in which case Escape to Egypt would have no effect.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: TimMierz on April 12, 2013, 01:41:29 PM
I think "from battle" means the current battle only, in which case Escape to Egypt would have no effect.

I agree with Mr. Uckey. However, if Escape to Egypt referenced instead the "Field of Battle," then Isaiah could be targeted.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Scoobug on April 12, 2013, 07:00:22 PM
I also agree with Mageduckey, but side battles are also my worst area. Is there any clarification in the REG?
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Mageduckey on April 12, 2013, 07:28:00 PM
I think "from battle" means the current battle only, in which case Escape to Egypt would have no effect.

I agree with Mr. Uckey. However, if Escape to Egypt referenced instead the "Field of Battle," then Isaiah could be targeted.

"Mr. Uckey"?  :o
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Scoobug on April 12, 2013, 08:28:18 PM
I think "from battle" means the current battle only, in which case Escape to Egypt would have no effect.

I agree with Mr. Uckey. However, if Escape to Egypt referenced instead the "Field of Battle," then Isaiah could be targeted.

"Mr. Uckey"?  :o
Darn that autocorrect!  ;D
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: TimMierz on April 13, 2013, 07:55:04 AM
"Mr. Uckey"?  :o

Isn't your first name Maged?

Anyhow, for REG support. Glossary, under "Battle":
"The phrase ‘in battle’ or ‘current battle’ refers to any cards in the current battle that can be either the primary battle (rescue attempt or battle challenge) or it can refer to a side battle, NOT BOTH. See also Battle Phase. The phrase ‘Field of Battle’ refers to any cards in the Field of Battle including primary battle and side battles."

Side battles are definitely a sticky wicket. Luckily, this particular issue is well defined.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Mageduckey on April 13, 2013, 11:12:54 AM
It's more like Mage-Duck-ey.  Stupid name?  Yes.  First online gaming that's just stuck with me through the years?  Yes.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Scoobug on April 13, 2013, 03:48:55 PM
It's more like Mage-Duck-ey.  Stupid name?  Yes.  First online gaming that's just stuck with me through the years?  Yes.
I can relate, I was like ten when I first used scoobug.
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Chris on April 13, 2013, 04:09:23 PM
You think that's bad? I was born with this handle.  ::)
Title: Re: Escape to Egypt in a side battle?
Post by: Scoobug on April 13, 2013, 04:32:44 PM
Nice, by the way I like your avatar. Are you really that good at snake?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal