Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 01:45:46 AM

Title: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 01:45:46 AM
So if I have Cov. of Death up and I play Doubt is Doubts SA negated when the card is placed on the table as a character thus stopping it from being discarded? Or is it because it was a dom when the SA went off that part is cbn?

Doubt
Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place in any territory. When played, this card becomes an orange brigade 0/12 Evil Character until end of turn. • Play As: Place in any territory. When played, convert this card to an orange brigade 0/12 Evil Character until end of turn. • Identifiers: Generic OT Genderless (not Human, not Demon) • Verse: Deuteronomy 28:66 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Ultra Rare)

Covenant with Death (FF2)

Type: Curse • Brigade: Pale Green/Brown • Ability: 2 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate characters. Restrict players from playing Enhancements unless a character is opposed in battle. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Isaiah 28:15 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Irish_Luck on October 05, 2011, 07:47:03 AM
I don't think so because I am pretty sure Dominants can not be negated.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: I am Knot a Blonde! on October 05, 2011, 09:50:20 AM
but it is no longer a dominant... it is a charachter. Just like an evil charachter is no longer an EC when converted...
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Professoralstad on October 05, 2011, 09:59:22 AM
but it is no longer a dominant... it is a charachter. Just like an evil charachter is no longer an EC when converted...

When it's ability was activated, it was a dominant. It doesn't have an ability as an EC.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: I am Knot a Blonde! on October 05, 2011, 10:01:38 AM
but, if you had a card that discarded an EC, it would discard doubt. If you had a card that discarded an evil dominant, it would not discard doubt (while a 0/12 EC)... right?
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 05, 2011, 10:02:10 AM
So if I have Cov. of Death up and I play Doubt is Doubts SA negated when the card is placed on the table as a character thus stopping it from being discarded? Or is it because it was a dom when the SA went off that part is cbn?
The SA on the dominant CBN, therefore Doubt will still only be a 0/12 Orange EC for the turn that it is played.  However, if Doubt survives the turn it is not discarded, but just stays in your territory as an evil card that doesn't do anything (unless it gets returned to your deck and reset).

I think this is the case regardless of whether Cov. of Death is active, though.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 10:50:50 AM
but it is no longer a dominant... it is a charachter. Just like an evil charachter is no longer an EC when converted...

When it's ability was activated, it was a dominant. It doesn't have an ability as an EC.
It does have an ability I can see it right there on the card.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Chronic Apathy on October 05, 2011, 10:57:30 AM
but it is no longer a dominant... it is a charachter. Just like an evil charachter is no longer an EC when converted...

When it's ability was activated, it was a dominant. It doesn't have an ability as an EC.
It does have an ability I can see it right there on the card.

That ability only applies as a dominant though. It basically just adds a temporary identifier.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Professoralstad on October 05, 2011, 10:58:05 AM
but it is no longer a dominant... it is a charachter. Just like an evil charachter is no longer an EC when converted...

When it's ability was activated, it was a dominant. It doesn't have an ability as an EC.
It does have an ability I can see it right there on the card.

It does. But it doesn't have an ability that activates as a character, which is what I meant. When it's ability activated, it was a dominant, and dominant abilities can never be negated. It would be similar to Michael playing Innumerable with CwD up.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 11:02:38 AM
Yes but a character can be negated in a later phase yes? Doubt would no longer be a Dom thus it would still be a character but not discard it's self.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Professoralstad on October 05, 2011, 11:08:50 AM
Yes but a character can be negated in a later phase yes? Doubt would no longer be a Dom thus it would still be a character but not discard it's self.

"Until end of turn" is not a negatable ability. It's a condition of an ability that was CBN when played, so it remains CBN.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 12:41:22 PM
I have another question about why Doubt may not actually do anything. Why doesn't its SA activate when it blocks?
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 01:01:33 PM
Yes but a character can be negated in a later phase yes? Doubt would no longer be a Dom thus it would still be a character but not discard it's self.

"Until end of turn" is not a negatable ability. It's a condition of an ability that was CBN when played, so it remains CBN.
I still don't understand how it's ability is still cbn when it is no longer a Dom and is somehow still cbn which doesn't make any sense in regards to how negating works. I understand that it used to be a Dom but saying it's like saying something used to be cbn so does that still mean it's cbn? No it's not cbn.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: browarod on October 05, 2011, 01:08:39 PM
The only part of Doubt's ability that is still active when it becomes a character is the "until end of turn" restriction on how long it's treated as a character. Since that restriction was part of a CBN ability, nothing can negate it and Doubt ceases to be a character at the end of that turn.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 01:16:25 PM
The only part of Doubt's ability that is still active when it becomes a character is the "until end of turn" restriction on how long it's treated as a character. Since that restriction was part of a CBN ability, nothing can negate it and Doubt ceases to be a character at the end of that turn.
Says whom? There's nothing on the card or in the rules to suggest its full SA doesn't activate when it enters battle as an EC.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Professoralstad on October 05, 2011, 01:17:27 PM
I have another question about why Doubt may not actually do anything. Why doesn't its SA activate when it blocks?

Yeah, that one I can't answer. Good thing no one except Rawrlolsauce ever uses it...
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: browarod on October 05, 2011, 01:45:50 PM
The only part of Doubt's ability that is still active when it becomes a character is the "until end of turn" restriction on how long it's treated as a character. Since that restriction was part of a CBN ability, nothing can negate it and Doubt ceases to be a character at the end of that turn.
Says whom? There's nothing on the card or in the rules to suggest its full SA doesn't activate when it enters battle as an EC.
I was attempting to clarify for Isildur on why Doubt in territory still ceases to be a character at end of turn even with something like Cov w/ Death active. Battle is a completely different ball of wax and my comment was not referring to it in any way.

If I had to guess on why it doesn't activate when entering battle, I would say that perhaps it acts like a placed card, and those don't reactivate in battle.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 01:58:48 PM
The whole point is that it's a character and when it enters battle it's a character. It's a character with a sa just like any other character so why doesn't it work the same way?
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: lightningninja on October 05, 2011, 02:01:37 PM
When the ability activates, it has an "end of turn" ability that cannot be negated (because it is a dominant). No matter what happens after that, whether or not it is an ec, Cov. with death cannot negate the ability because when it activated it was a domiant, "end of turn" ability which means it can't be negated until the end of the turn.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 02:17:26 PM
The only part of Doubt's ability that is still active when it becomes a character is the "until end of turn" restriction on how long it's treated as a character. Since that restriction was part of a CBN ability, nothing can negate it and Doubt ceases to be a character at the end of that turn.
Says whom? There's nothing on the card or in the rules to suggest its full SA doesn't activate when it enters battle as an EC.

The SA specifies that it activates when doubt enters play though.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 02:57:05 PM
Quote
Place in any territory. When played, this card becomes an orange brigade 0/12 Evil Character until end of turn.
The place is independent of the "when played."
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 03:03:24 PM
Quote
Place in any territory. When played, this card becomes an orange brigade 0/12 Evil Character until end of turn.
The place is independent of the "when played."

But the "Until end of Turn" is Not. Until the "When Played" kicks in it's still a dominant, which cannot be negated and as has been stated cannot be negated is cannot be negated, it doesn't lose the CNB when it changes to a character
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 03:16:42 PM
That's not what I'm talking about. You said all the other stuff turns off when it becomes a character. I say, why? In fact, I contend that it doesn't, and Doubts horrible wording has done it in even more than we realized when it was discovered putting it in another player's territory won't let him block with it.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: lp670sv on October 05, 2011, 03:24:52 PM
That's not what I'm talking about. You said all the other stuff turns off when it becomes a character. I say, why? In fact, I contend that it doesn't, and Doubts horrible wording has done it in even more than we realized when it was discovered putting it in another player's territory won't let him block with it.

I don't think it necassarily turns off, just doesn't activate. the second part doesn't activate because it specifies that it happens when it goes in play. the first part doesn't activate because it would make the card useless. I block with it, and then I'm forced to place it in a territory. I can't choose a new blocker because I already blocked, so I automatically lose that RA.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 05, 2011, 03:32:25 PM
Just because an SA is bad or doesn't do what was intended doesn't mean we get to ignore it.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: ChristianSoldier on October 05, 2011, 03:58:11 PM
I would read Doubt as becoming an Orange Brigade 0/12 Evil character that has no special ability, when a card "Becomes" something it no longer has the characteristics it had before (Doubt isn't a dominant nor does it have a special ability when its a character) However I don't think "Becomes" is a well defined special ability so I might be wrong.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: browarod on October 05, 2011, 04:10:45 PM
But it does work as intended (to the extent we're currently talking about). Doubt is both a place card and gets turned into a character. Precedent says that place overrides character-ness. A Panic Demon placed on a hero doesn't activate as a character if the hero it's on enters battle. I don't think it's too much of a logical leap to assume that Doubt does the same thing. It was placed somewhere, and that place sticks unless another ability activates to supersede that (such as is the case if you block with a Panic Demon and band to the one on the hero, which works).

:2cents:
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 05:20:25 PM
When the ability activates, it has an "end of turn" ability that cannot be negated (because it is a dominant). No matter what happens after that, whether or not it is an ec, Cov. with death cannot negate the ability because when it activated it was a domiant, "end of turn" ability which means it can't be negated until the end of the turn.
But say I use Simon the Magic Man and in battle place a abom in my oppononents territory does that mean it's always cbn? No I can still negate it the next phase. Your logic above does not make sense with how anything else is played in the game.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: browarod on October 05, 2011, 06:40:58 PM
Actually, Abom would indeed be CBN. It entered play with a CBN ability, so as long as it remains in play it keeps the CBN status. CBN can neither be gained nor lost retroactively.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Isildur on October 05, 2011, 06:52:36 PM
Actually, Abom would indeed be CBN. It entered play with a CBN ability, so as long as it remains in play it keeps the CBN status. CBN can neither be gained nor lost retroactively.
What???? This is new to me.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: The Guardian on October 05, 2011, 07:10:32 PM
Actually, Abom would indeed be CBN. It entered play with a CBN ability, so as long as it remains in play it keeps the CBN status. CBN can neither be gained nor lost retroactively.

+1

This is correct.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: TheHobbit13 on October 05, 2011, 10:32:47 PM
I thought Simon the Magician was a Samaritan and not Greek.  ???
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: browarod on October 05, 2011, 10:38:48 PM
I think Simon was just the first CBN can-play-black character that Isildur thought of.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: Professoralstad on October 06, 2011, 11:20:16 AM
I thought Simon the Magician was a Samaritan and not Greek.  ???

Hobbit is correct. If Simon played Abom, it would not do anything except hang out in battle until the end. However, the others are correct that if he was Greek, Abom could not be negated later. A better example is if Michael plays Wheel Within a Wheel in battle, and places it on an angel. It would not be able to be negated later on.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: STAMP on October 06, 2011, 11:37:03 AM
One of the things that I love about Redemption is that it has great game-play mechanics.


And there's dominants...the Dopey of the card types.


:laugh:
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: christiangamer25 on December 13, 2011, 02:50:19 AM
this is wrong because if your right jordan your saying micahel can set up a coth with wheel that doesn't negate itself and is protected and under rules michaels cbn should stop after michaels battle this is potentially broken in an undonnable coth please fix.
Title: Re: Doubt
Post by: SomeKittens on December 13, 2011, 10:14:34 AM
this is wrong because if your right jordan your saying micahel can set up a coth with wheel that doesn't negate itself and is protected and under rules michaels cbn should stop after michaels battle this is potentially broken in an undonnable coth please fix.
Guess you'll have to depend on an actual battle, instead of dominants.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal