Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Nameless on May 15, 2012, 07:41:04 PM
-
My opp goes out with Joe. I block with King Omri w/ Gates and search my deck for a Sam site. Can I kill Joe?
Joseph (FF2)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Blue/Green • Ability: 2 / 2 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search deck for Storehouse or Goshen. Protect sons of Jacob from discard. Enhancements with "Joseph" in title or reference cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Son of Jacob, Prophet • Verse: Genesis 37:3 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers Extended booster packs (None)
See also:
Cannot be Negated
Protect
Search
-
You can decrease joe, but he'll still be alive during the battle phase since he's protected from discard. However, after the battle phase he returns to territory, and his ability is no longer active and he is discarded.
-
Drrek is right. Also, note, if you are Protected from Discard Abilities, I can still kill you by Decrease because it's Death by a Game Rule.
-
Agreed on all points both brought up. And I think they covered everything, too.
-
If protected from discard, does that mean that they cannot be discarded in any sort of fashion, or just from decrease and discard abilities?
-
If protected from discard, does that mean that they cannot be discarded in any sort of fashion, or just from decrease and discard abilities?
Protected from discard means protection from all discard, including by game rule. So, if you are at */0 or less, you won't be discarded as long as the protection remains. I honestly don't know what happens in the case of fortresses coming down or similar situations though...
-
If you are Protected from Discard, it's from any kind of Discard. If it is Discard Abilities, then it's only an effect that D/C's a Character. (Note, since the drop to 0/* is a game rule, then that means that cards like Hunger doesn't actually have a Discard Ability)
-
Thought about it, and I'm back. If you are protected from the numbers, you are protected from all kinds of discard (by the numbers, abilities, toughness */0 or below, and so on). BUT. You are not protected from following a card you are placed on that goes to discard.
For example: I have Sons of Jacob in Goshen, make an RA with Joseph (who protects them from discard), and my opponent drops ASA and blows up Goshen. Even though the Sons of Jacob are protected, they still follow Goshen to discard.
That's the only thing I can think of that defies this rule.
-
Are u sure that the follow rule overrides protect?
-
Are u sure that the follow rule overrides protect?
I'm pretty sure it does.
-
Are u sure that the follow rule overrides protect?
Yes, because there is no discard effect targeting the character. They are instead following the rule for placed card and following the card wherever it ends up, even if it is discard.
-
If you are protected from dis ard then can you be discarded by the numbers?
-
If you are protected from dis ard then can you be discarded by the numbers?
As I noted, nope, if you are protected from discard then you cannot be discarded by the numbers.
-
If you are protected from dis ard then can you be discarded by the numbers?
If you are straight up protected from discard, you cannot be discarded by the numbers.
If you are protected from discard abilities, you can be discarded by the numbers.