Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemption collector 777 on April 29, 2015, 01:39:44 PM
-
Deafening Spirit SA: Negate and discard the last good Enhancement played this battle. You may treat this card as an EC until the end of this battle.
Let's assume that DS was played in battle and was treated as an EC.
1. If a hero plays a "Negate the last evil enhancement played this battle" can they target DS with it? (even though it is an EC at this point)
2. If a Hero plays a card that says "Negate Evil characters' can they target DS , would DS become an enhancement and be placed on whichever orange character played it?
Assume DS is played as an enhancement
3. If DS (played as an enhancement) got momently interrupted by an good ITB card and then reactiviates , can the player that played the DS card choose whether to treat it as an EC or not again?
-
1. I believe the answer is yes. "Negate last" abilities reach back in time for other cards so I think it would for DS as well. It was the last enhancement played even though it's not an enhancement anymore.
2. I believe it was ruled that DS becomes a no-special-ability evil character so negating him wouldn't actually do anything to him.
3. Interrupt doesn't work like that, it doesn't let you change your mind or change targets on the interrupted card. Once the interrupt ends the interrupted card tries to carry out the same way it tried to before.
-
Also would Deafening Spirit and Madness (both can be an EC) are they both Male or Genderless characters?
-
According to the wiki Madness is genderless so I assume Deafening Spirit would be as well.
-
Backing browarod's post with the existing ruling (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/deafening-spirit-vs-cod/msg455629/#msg455629) that has been referenced since and not been overturned to my knowledge.
On whether they have gender, you determine that based on the card image and verse. Both of these images display possessed people, but not the spirits causing the problem.
Deafening, though, refers to it as a "he" so it is male. REG may need updated on that.
For the other one, since gender cannot be determined (by the verse or image), Madness is genderless.
EDIT: I checked the REG, and it has Madness as genderless but not Deafening (read the verse, you'll see it is a "he").
-
I wasn't sure if the list didn't mention DS since it wasn't technically a character card or if that meant it wasn't genderless. Thanks for the clarification. :)