Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: CJSports on March 23, 2011, 09:19:36 PM

Title: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: CJSports on March 23, 2011, 09:19:36 PM
If you block with Trembling Demon from hand with crown of thorns activated would his ability take effect before he was discarded?
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: TheHobbit13 on March 23, 2011, 09:29:04 PM
Characters are never discarded in battle when their numbers decrease.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: Townsend on March 23, 2011, 09:30:38 PM
Characters are never discarded in battle when their numbers decrease.
Thank Goodness. I thought this is what is was.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: CJSports on March 24, 2011, 02:47:43 PM
New combo being constructed.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: SomeKittens on March 24, 2011, 02:53:37 PM
Characters are never discarded in battle when their numbers decrease.
Unless a card says otherwise (this may be wrong, depends on what the elders say about clarifying text), it's at the battle resolution, if their toughness is <= 0.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: cparks3 on March 27, 2011, 12:31:34 AM
If you activate Crown of Thorns and your opponent has a 1/1 in territory then is it discarded?
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: Warrior_Monk on March 27, 2011, 12:36:54 AM
Correct. If characters reach 0 or less toughness, they are discarded, with the exception of characters in battle.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: SomeKittens on March 27, 2011, 12:59:16 AM
However, it is possible to use a protect fortress to stop that from happening.  High Priest's Palace + CoT + Sadds/Phars = 1/0 I can haz initiative?
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: Warrior_Monk on March 27, 2011, 01:13:59 AM
They would die during battle resolution though.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 27, 2011, 08:52:18 AM
which theyre probably going to do anyways...
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 27, 2011, 11:18:23 AM
If characters reach 0 or less toughness, they are discarded, with the exception of characters in battle.

Even characters outside of battle would not be discarded, as long as it is during the Battle Phase.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: TheHobbit13 on March 27, 2011, 12:51:16 PM
If characters reach 0 or less toughness, they are discarded, with the exception of characters in battle.

Even characters outside of battle would not be discarded, as long as it is during the Battle Phase.

Are you 100 % sure? It would make sense, although I have seen it played the other way many times for example someone plays hunger and that territory was immediately cleared.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: The M on March 27, 2011, 01:23:32 PM
People usually just discard them unless they can negate it or something so they don't forget or something.
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 27, 2011, 02:27:00 PM
If characters reach 0 or less toughness, they are discarded, with the exception of characters in battle.

Even characters outside of battle would not be discarded, as long as it is during the Battle Phase.

Are you 100 % sure? It would make sense, although I have seen it played the other way many times for example someone plays hunger and that territory was immediately cleared.

Rulebook page 20
Title: Re: Crown of Thorns?
Post by: TheHobbit13 on March 27, 2011, 04:20:08 PM
I'm a man I don't read directions. thanks though.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal