Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: punkrat777 on December 07, 2010, 11:48:40 AM

Title: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 07, 2010, 11:48:40 AM
So these are probably really basic questions but I still need to ask them.

1. When making a rescue attempt can you 'attack' with more than one hero?

2. The "Son of God" Card ... Can it rescue the your own Lost Soul?

There'll be more... 
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 07, 2010, 11:51:07 AM
1.) Technically, no.  You only make a rescue attempt with one hero, but if that hero has a "band" ability, it can bring another one mentioned in the ability into battle.
See James/John in the G deck.
2.) Son of God says "Any lost soul in play".  Your lost souls are in play, therefore they can be targeted by SoG.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 07, 2010, 11:58:20 AM
thanks for responding! thats awesome.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 07, 2010, 12:33:39 PM
You're welcome, and welcome to the forums!
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: The M on December 07, 2010, 12:35:02 PM
A second welcome from me.  ;D
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 07, 2010, 01:27:15 PM
So if you can only rescue attempt with one hero why do some cars say "All heros is battle get (+*,+*)" Or "All evil characters get (-*,-*)" ?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on December 07, 2010, 01:28:15 PM
"Banding" abilities allow you to put more than one character into battle.

Example:
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fredemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FJames%2C%2520Son%2520of%2520Zebedee%2520%28Ap%29.gif&hash=72a3b765f6b199213b1dea3264c46dba74c2c0c8)(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fredemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FJohn%2520%28H%29.gif&hash=8c0b2873dac7fd40d3ada3a7d64bf247c75bdc90)


So, in that case, you can attack with James Son of Zebedee and he "bands" John into battle, leaving you rescuing with 2 heroes.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 07, 2010, 01:32:29 PM
Some important banding cards include:
Jacob
Sadducees/Pharisees
Gathering of Angels
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 07, 2010, 05:59:03 PM
so when banding, lets say heros, and a card that says "all heros (-*,-*)" means that both james and john would go down (*,*) or just their total?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: browarod on December 07, 2010, 06:08:18 PM
It would mean each hero in battle decreases by that amount (so if you have 3 heroes in battle and a -2/-2 per hero card is played, the total decrease to your combined numbers is -6/-6).
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 08, 2010, 12:45:17 PM
thanks guys! that helps.

I still have more questions so here goes.  ???

1. When banding I can band as many characters as I want/am able to. Is there a limit?

2. When I have all these characters in the battle field (lets say I have 3 evil characters band together) Their numbers are added together... are the dealt with separately or as one unit?
   Example: If I am using "Lot's Wife" -"May band with any Evil Character." and I band to two other evil characters(one that is Crimson and one that is Brown.) Then I want to use enhancements. Can I only use a black one on Lot's Wife since she is the one banding or could I play a crimson one on the crimson one and/or a brown one on the brown one?  

3. Immune - If I'm using Lot's Wife (which is Black) and I band to a Crimson and am blocking a hero. Then the opponent plays an enhancement that makes the hero immune to black evil characters.
Is the hero now immune to both because Lot's Wife is the one banding or is the crimson evil character now the only one able to block?

4. If Lot's Wife is banding together 3 evil characters and the opponent plays a card that discards her from play. does the battle end or does the other two evil characters stay band together and still block?

5. Can you capture a hero/evil character without having a fortress? If so where do they go and how can they be rescued?

Thanks again! I'm sure they will be more.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: browarod on December 08, 2010, 12:53:02 PM
1. You are limited to the number/people that the banding card you are using says. In the above example, James can only band John in, no one else. If a card says "band a hero into battle", you are limited to banding one hero into battle.

2. You can play any enhancement that matches brigade with a hero or evil character you are using in battle. In your example, Lot's Wife could only band to one evil character, but if it was crimson you could then use black and crimson evil enhancements that battle.

3. The hero would only be immune to Lot's Wife and black enhancements played on her, so you could still use crimson enhancements to defeat them in battle. Also, the toughness (/*) of Lot's Wife is still used in calculating whether your evil characters are dying by numbers.

4. As I said above, Lot's Wife can only band 1 evil character into battle by herself. To answer your question, if the discard card interrupts or negates her ability, then the banding is undone as well. If all it does is discard her, however, the banded evil character remains in battle to continue fighting.

5. Captured characters, by default, get placed in the capturing player's Land of Bondage (where you put your Lost Souls) and are treated as Lost Souls (the capturing card will specify if it wants you to do something other than this). The only exceptions to this are demons. When a demon is captured, it still goes to the Land of Bondage, but it is not treated as a Lost Soul and it cannot be rescued.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 08, 2010, 12:56:00 PM
I find it very inspiring that a new playing is asking so many questions about to the game to learn it effectively. And no better place to ask than here. Good luck. and i shall help to answer if nobody beats meh to it lolz
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 08, 2010, 01:02:58 PM
thank you that is very helpful.

I do have a question about cards that band to one than one character. ie. High Priest Annas can band to all Pharisees and Sadducees. If he's ability isn't negated but he's discarded from battle does the other Pharisees and Sadducees stay banded together?

How do you know its a demon?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: soul seeker on December 08, 2010, 01:04:41 PM
In case you want confirmation, browarod is correct in all his answers.

Kudos to you browarod for the continuous correction of the misunderstanding with banding by Punkrat in regards to Lot's Wife.  :thumbup:
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: soul seeker on December 08, 2010, 01:07:16 PM
thank you that is very helpful.

I do have a question about cards that band to one than one character. ie. High Priest Annas can band to all Pharisees and Sadducees. If he's ability isn't negated but he's discarded from battle does the other Pharisees and Sadducees stay banded together?

How do you know its a demon?
1.  yes, they stay banded together.

2.  Card art, experience, and the REG are the three best ways to know if it's a demon
             Plus, it is good to know that: all beasts are demons but not all demons are beasts.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: browarod on December 08, 2010, 01:11:05 PM
thank you that is very helpful.

I do have a question about cards that band to one than one character. ie. High Priest Annas can band to all Pharisees and Sadducees. If he's ability isn't negated but he's discarded from battle does the other Pharisees and Sadducees stay banded together?

How do you know its a demon?
Yes, the other characters would remain in battle if Annas is discarded but not negated.

Most newer demons will have "Demon" in the identifier line right underneath their art box. For older cards, the verse will sometimes give hints that it's a demon, or if the art is something non-human looking then it's probably a demon. You can look up cards on the REG (located here (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/)) to double check as it gives identifiers such as demon, testament, civilization, and unique/generic status.

*instaposted with Soul Seeker* He is correct as well.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 08, 2010, 01:21:08 PM
very cool. hope all the questions aren't overwhelming or so simply there silly.

Is Lying Spirit an example of a demon?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: browarod on December 08, 2010, 01:22:21 PM
Yep, Lying Spirit is indeed a demon.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 08, 2010, 01:23:40 PM
you guys are awesome! thanks.  ;D
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 08, 2010, 01:23:57 PM
Here is a list of all the demons: Straight from the reg


Abaddon the Destroyer (L), Abaddon the Destroyer (UL), Admiral (AW), Bear (DL), Bear (DU), Beast from the Earth (L), Beast from the Earth (UL), Beast from the Earth (Wa), Beast from the Sea (L), Beast from the Sea (UL), Beast from the Sea (Wa), Blinding Demon (Pi), Controlling Demon (Ap), Crippling Demon (Pi), Cubus (AW), Deafening Spirit (Pi), Death & Hades (Wa), Deceiving Spirit (FF), Demon behind the Idol (Pi), Demon in Armor (Pa), Evil Angel (Pi), Evil Angel (Wa), Evil Spawn (DL), Evil Spawn (DU), Evil Spawn (Pi), Fallen Angel (Pi), Fallen Angel (Wa), Foul Spirit (E), Frog Demons (L), Frog Demons (UL), Frog Demons (P), Frog Demons (Wa), Injuring Demon (Pi), King of Tyrus (Pi), King of Tyrus (Wa), Legion (Ap), Legion (Di), Locust from the Pit (BL), Locust from the Pit (BU), Locust from the Pit (DL), Locust from the Pit (DU), Locust from the Pit (G), Locust from the Pit (L), Locust from the Pit (UL), Locust from the Pit (Wa), Lying Spirit (F), Mary's Seven Demons (FF), Messenger of Satan (Ap), Morg (AW), Morgan (AW), Obsidian Minion (Black) (AW), Obsidian Minion (Gold-1) (AW), Obsidian Minion (Gold-2) (AW), Obsidian Minion (Gold-3) (AW), Obsidian Minion (Grey) (AW), Panic Demon (Black) (AW), Panic Demon (Brown) (AW), Panic Demon (Crimson) (AW), Panic Demon (Gold) (AW), Panic Demon (Grey) (AW), Panic Demon (P), Panic Demon (Pale Green) (AW), Possessing Demon (Ap), Prince of Greece (Pi), Prince of Greece (Wa), Prince of Persia (Di), Prince of Persia (Pr), Prince of the Air (Pi), Prince of this World (Pi), Prince of this World (Wa), Prince of Tyrus (Pi), Prince of Tyrus (Wa), Que (AW), Red Dragon (G), Red Dragon (L), Red Dragon (UL), Red Dragon (Wa), Seizing Spirit (Pi), Seven Wicked Spirits (FF), Shadow (AW), Spirit of Doubt (AW), Spirit of Temptation (TP), Strong Demon (Di), Strong Demon (DL), Strong Demon (DU), Strong Demon (G), The Bear (RA), The Goat with Horn (Di), The Ram with Two Horns (Di), The Terrifying Beast (RA), The Thief (Pi), The Winged Leopard (RA), The Winged Lion (RA), Trembling Demon (FF), Unclean Spirit (E), Wandering Spirit (Ap), and Wandering Spirit (TP)
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 08, 2010, 01:26:16 PM
I do have a question about cards that band to one than one character. ie. High Priest Annas can band to all Pharisees and Sadducees. If he's ability isn't negated but he's discarded from battle does the other Pharisees and Sadducees stay banded together?
If the card says "discard" Annas would be discarded, and the numbers go away.  If the card says "negate" Annas and his numbers stay, but his special ability (banding) goes away.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 08, 2010, 02:39:23 PM
"3. The hero would only be immune to Lot's Wife and black enhancements played on her, so you could still use crimson enhancements to defeat them in battle. Also, the toughness (/*) of Lot's Wife is still used in calculating whether your evil characters are dying by numbers."


So if the the card was ignoring black Brigade. ... what happens then?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: soul seeker on December 08, 2010, 03:35:23 PM
Ignore pretty much means "pretend it's not there."  A brigade being ignored can not harm the ignoree, neither can the ignoree harm the ignored brigade.
      *As a side note, if a hero in battle can play an ignore before an evil character even enters battle then that evil character can never enter battle.

Example to explain what I mean in the side note:
     Hero "A" ignores Crimson, then your Black Lot's wife can enter battle but she canNOT band to a Crimson evil character because of the ignore.

*EDIT to answer the question completely: The hero would win a lost soul because an ignored evil character cannot block a Hero that is ignoring them whether the EC is in battle or not.  Ignore=a battle won for the hero.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 10, 2010, 10:55:54 AM
What happens if some one runs out of cards in their draw pile?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 10, 2010, 11:00:21 AM
Also ... can you play cards out of your hand???

Meaning if I dont have a EC in play when opponent attacks can I block with a EC in hand?

Also can you band to characters in your hand?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: Daniel TS RED on December 10, 2010, 11:28:42 AM
What happens if some one runs out of cards in their draw pile?

They just finish the game with cards they have left in territory and in their hand, unless they play a card that allows them to shuffle cards back into the draw pile.
Also ... can you play cards out of your hand???

Meaning if I dont have a EC in play when opponent attacks can I block with a EC in hand?

Also can you band to characters in your hand?

You can block from hand when your opponent attacks, unless your EC is being ignored pre-battle.

You can block from hand or territory and if that player can band with any player in your hand, territory, or opponent's territory, they can band together.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: soul seeker on December 10, 2010, 12:39:43 PM
Plus, it is a good strategy to keep characters in your hand if you have space to do so (hand limit is 8 ).  Characters in territory are VERY vulnerable and they alert your opponent to what you can and can't do.  A surprise character from hand may give you the edge you need to win.

*EDIT:  Punkrat is right...I did not mean to enter the "shades" smiley.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 10, 2010, 01:36:40 PM
thanks. you must have meant (the hand limit hand is 8 ) not (the hand limit hand is  8)

LOL
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 10, 2010, 02:10:41 PM
Related: You can never have more than 16 cards in hand.  Just learned that a month or two ago.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: The M on December 10, 2010, 05:32:09 PM
Related: You can never have more than 16 cards in hand.  Just learned that a month or two ago.
Which ruins my reach x3 evil plan...
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 10, 2010, 05:56:36 PM
It makes playing Fishing Boat that much more interesting.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: punkrat777 on December 11, 2010, 01:08:47 PM
If I make a rescue attempt with a silver hero and a pale green EC blocks. Then the pale green plays an enhancement that discards my hero. Can I in response play a Sixth Seal-"Hero ignores pale green brigade."?

Also ... Say I play a Fourth Seal-"TheAll Evil Characters in play decrease 5/5 until end of turn." And I have a EC in my territory that is defense 5 or less does it get discarded?
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: The M on December 11, 2010, 01:11:24 PM
Q1: No. You would need to play the ignore beforehand or use a silver enhancement with an interrupt or negate ability.

Q2: Yes. Your evil characters with defense 5 or less are discarded in addition to your opponents evil characters 5 or less.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 11, 2010, 01:27:13 PM
Q1: No. You would need to play the ignore beforehand or use a silver enhancement with an interrupt or negate ability.

Q2: Yes. Your evil characters with defense 5 or less are discarded in addition to your opponents evil characters 5 or less.

Unless they are protected from discard
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: Red on December 11, 2010, 02:19:42 PM
Or it's the battle phase.
Title: Re: Couple Questions from a new player
Post by: SomeKittens on December 11, 2010, 02:22:45 PM
They'd still be discarded at the battle resolution.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal