Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Ammian on January 02, 2011, 05:12:20 PM
-
To clarify...
→I have heard that converted characters lose their special ability. Is this true?
→If so, would a converted evil character count as having "no special ability"?
•For example, if King Zedekiah converted to a red brigade hero through Power of the Cross, could you play Passover Preparations on him?
Passover Preparations (Pa)
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Red • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside a Hero that has no special ability for four turns. Upon return enhancements played on Hero may not be interrupted, prevented, or negated. • Play As: Set aside a Hero that has no special ability (or added special ability) for four turns. Upon return enhancements played on Hero cannot be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Exodus 12:7
→Moreover, what about Weapon-class enhancements? I read in that rule card you get in The Kings packs that, provided the special ability keeps with the spirit of the game, you may keep the text on the weapon class enhancement when the evil character bearing it is converted (ex: 2kH stays in effect). Is this true, or has it changed?
Thanks,
IV
-
Heroes always lose their SA when convert. Evil Characters lose any special abilities that specifically target Heroes. Same with weapons. Any character with a non-converted SA is still considered to have an SA, just an inactive one.
-
Heroes always lose their SA when convert. Evil Characters lose any special abilities that specifically target harm Heroes. Same with weapons. Any character with a non-converted SA is still considered to have an SA, just an inactive one.
-
Well dagnabit...
Wait a minute ...what do you mean, same for WC enhancements? Do you mean they don't transfer, they only lose special abilities that harm heroes, or they don't transfer if a hero is bearing them? I'm confused.
Also, why does Job's Wife get to carry her ability over but Moses does not?
I'm still a bit confused. Could I have a little more clarification?
Thanks,
Ian Vroon
-
WC enhancements follow the same rules as characters.
Job's wife is an EC and Moses is a Hero, that's why.
-
Heroes always lose their SA when convert. Evil Characters lose any special abilities that specifically target Heroes.
-
WC enhancements follow the same rules as characters.
→That's what I mean. I was confused as to exactly what the rules are that WC enhancements follow. May I have some exact stipulations (including an example or two)?
Job's wife is an EC and Moses is a Hero, that's why.
→You misunderstood. I know that. I was just trying to phrase the question "Why do evil characters sometimes get to keep their special abilities but heroes never do?" That was my bad for being confusing. Sorry!
→What I'm asking, then, is why is the ruling that way? Were there getting to be too many confusing situations with converted heroes having their special ability carried over?
Thanks and God bless,
Ian Vroon
-
Example:
Namaan's Chariot and Horses on Namaan converts when he does, because it doesn't harm heroes.
Mace's ability would not work on a converted evil character, because it harms heroes.
-
→What I'm asking, then, is why is the ruling that way? Were there getting to be too many confusing situations with converted heroes having their special ability carried over?
I think one thing that went into that ruling was that it prevented people from converting their heroes to evil characters on purpose in order to take advantage of their special abilities. And the PTB felt that strategy went against the theme of the game. In general, we want players to be motivated to turn Lost Souls into Redeemed Souls, and to convert Evil Characters into Good Characters. Those goals allign with the theme of the game. Going the other way should be an exception, right?
-
→What I'm asking, then, is why is the ruling that way? Were there getting to be too many confusing situations with converted heroes having their special ability carried over?
I think one thing that went into that ruling was that it prevented people from converting their heroes to evil characters on purpose in order to take advantage of their special abilities. And the PTB felt that strategy went against the theme of the game. In general, we want players to be motivated to turn Lost Souls into Redeemed Souls, and to convert Evil Characters into Good Characters. Those goals allign with the theme of the game. Going the other way should be an exception, right?
Phenomenal ...you're totally right. I completely agree.
Example:
Namaan's Chariot and Horses on Namaan converts when he does, because it doesn't harm heroes.
Mace's ability would not work on a converted evil character, because it harms heroes.
I understand now. Thanks to all!
In Christ,
IV
-
Been so long since this situation came up I forgot the answer (I'm getting old :p)
If an EC is converted and then is converted back, what happens to their SA? Does it matter if their SA worked as a hero or not?
-
I don't think so for the reason that the hero had no ability already and certainly wouldn't gain an evil character-like ability.
-
Been so long since this situation came up I forgot the answer (I'm getting old :p)
If an EC is converted and then is converted back, what happens to their SA? Does it matter if their SA worked as a hero or not?
Also: vice-versa