Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TheHobbit13 on March 03, 2012, 07:21:49 PM

Title: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: TheHobbit13 on March 03, 2012, 07:21:49 PM
I ra with a random hero. My opponent blocks and plays a card to choose the rescuer, kicking the origional hero out of battle. I know for sure if the hero choosen would cause the ec to be losing no negate, off the origional hero, can be played. On the other hand if  a hero is choosen into a losing situation a negate can be played off the origional hero. But what about a stalemate?
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 04, 2012, 12:40:51 PM
In a stalemate, the EC would have initiative since the new Hero's SA would activate (unless the new Hero had no SA) and therefore be considered the "last card played."

The current definition of "played" in the REG:

Play
A card is considered "played" (1) when its special ability activates or (2) when it is put into play – except by a "place" special ability or a "holds" identifier.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Professoralstad on March 04, 2012, 09:21:57 PM
In a stalemate, the EC would have initiative since the new Hero's SA would activate (unless the new Hero had no SA) and therefore be considered the "last card played."

The current definition of "played" in the REG:

Play
A card is considered "played" (1) when its special ability activates or (2) when it is put into play – except by a "place" special ability or a "holds" identifier.

I agree with YMT, though I think that even if the Hero had no SA, it would still be the EC's initiative.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 04, 2012, 11:31:58 PM
I agree with YMT, though I think that even if the Hero had no SA, it would still be the EC's initiative.

So should the second portion of the definition be changed to "when it is put into play or battle?"
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 04, 2012, 11:55:05 PM
The wording we have was made specifically to avoid that. Gates of Samaria would be insane if that were the case.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: SomeKittens on March 05, 2012, 09:22:52 AM
The wording we have was made specifically to avoid that. Gates of Samaria would be insane if that were the case.
Drat.  I was hoping no one would point that out.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 05, 2012, 05:17:45 PM
The wording we have was made specifically to avoid that. Gates of Samaria would be insane if that were the case.

So if a hero that was already in play has no SA and is brought into battle with a "Choose the Resuer" ability, and the ensuing battle is a stalemate, then the hero would have initiative.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 05, 2012, 05:41:58 PM
That is correct. Odd, never-happen situations like that are much preferable to a GoS deck being able to gain/decrease 30/30 every turn.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Chronic Apathy on March 05, 2012, 07:13:09 PM
That is correct. Odd, never-happen situations like that are much preferable to a GoS deck being able to gain/decrease 30/30 every turn.

Tell that to the people who want speed to die.  ::)
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 05, 2012, 07:18:49 PM
That is correct. Odd, never-happen situations like that are much preferable to a GoS deck being able to gain/decrease 30/30 every turn.

I'm just trying to clarify since that is what I originally said, but ProfessorAlstad (an Elder) said otherwise.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: TheHobbit13 on March 05, 2012, 07:30:24 PM
The new definition of play (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rule-changesclarifications-for-2011-2012-tournament-season/) should clear everything up. Characters are played when they are put into your side of the battle and GoS isn't broken as you can only play multicolor sites in battle.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Chronic Apathy on March 05, 2012, 07:40:20 PM
The new definition of play (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rule-changesclarifications-for-2011-2012-tournament-season/) should clear everything up. Characters are played when they are put into your side of the battle and GoS isn't broken as you can only play multicolor sites in battle.

I'm pretty sure that last part is 100% wrong.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Professoralstad on March 05, 2012, 08:08:12 PM
Hobbit is correct. If you read what Gabe posted, only multicolor sites are played in battle. Other sites are only played when put into play.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 05, 2012, 08:42:47 PM
Is there really no way to have that somehow connected to the REG, because I never would have found that, and certainly not in the middle of a tournament.
Title: Re: Choosing the Rescuer
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 06, 2012, 01:04:53 AM
The new definition of play (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rule-changesclarifications-for-2011-2012-tournament-season/) should clear everything up. Characters are played when they are put into your side of the battle and GoS isn't broken as you can only play multicolor sites in battle.

I'm pretty sure that last part is 100% wrong.
I was a bit confused when I read it at first, but what it means is that only multicolored sites are "played" when they enter battle, not that only multicolor sites can enter battle.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal