Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on May 27, 2017, 09:34:46 AM

Title: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Crashfach2002 on May 27, 2017, 09:34:46 AM
If a Warrior class angel is discard holding a weapon, does the weapon follow that angel to Chamber?
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Gabe on May 27, 2017, 09:45:47 AM
If a Warrior class angel is discard holding a weapon, does the weapon follow that angel to Chamber?

If he warrior is discarded outside of battle then the weapon is being "held" and will follow it's bearer. During battle a weapon is treated like any other enhancement and will not follow.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Crashfach2002 on May 27, 2017, 09:54:57 AM
When was the ruling made that weapons no longer follow when in battle?  I don't remember seeing a ruling that changed the status quo (I could have simply missed it).
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Watchman on May 27, 2017, 10:15:52 AM
I also thought (based upon a recent thread related to this) that if the warrior is shuffled from territory that the weapon on him was discarded and didn't get shuffled with him since it wasn't a placed enhancement. I could be mistaken but I thought that was the rule concerning weapons since they aren't placed enhs but are only being held.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: megamanlan on May 27, 2017, 10:52:51 AM
To my knowledge that is not the case either. Not to mention it's just more confusing.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Gabe on May 27, 2017, 11:04:55 AM
Outside of battle weapons are held and follow the bearer.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Watchman on May 27, 2017, 12:31:20 PM
What about placed enhs in battle.  Do they follow or are just discarded?
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: megamanlan on May 27, 2017, 12:39:13 PM
Outside of battle weapons are held and follow the bearer.

Except as far as I know, that's still the same in battle or else Weapons would be discarded after battle.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: NathanW on May 27, 2017, 03:29:47 PM
In battle weapons are treated like enhancements so in battle a weapon is not "held" by a warrior class character. That's how I understand weapons at least.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Kevinthedude on May 27, 2017, 04:24:46 PM
What about placed enhs in battle.  Do they follow or are just discarded?

They don't follow in battle because they only follow the same rules as placed enhancements when out of battle.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: megamanlan on May 27, 2017, 05:18:16 PM
What about placed enhs in battle.  Do they follow or are just discarded?

They don't follow in battle because they only follow the same rules as placed enhancements when out of battle.

Placed Enhancements NEVER work like Weapons. They always follow regardless of what happens to the Character.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Kevinthedude on May 27, 2017, 05:20:22 PM
What about placed enhs in battle.  Do they follow or are just discarded?

They don't follow in battle because they only follow the same rules as placed enhancements when out of battle.

Placed Enhancements NEVER work like Weapons. They always follow regardless of what happens to the Character.

Misread Watchman's post, thought it said "What about weapons in battle"  :o
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: megamanlan on May 27, 2017, 05:21:14 PM
In battle weapons are treated like enhancements so in battle a weapon is not "held" by a warrior class character. That's how I understand weapons at least.

Then a weapon would be discarded after battle which is not how they work. They have to have a link to the bearer.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: Gabe on May 27, 2017, 06:55:22 PM
In battle weapons are treated like enhancements so in battle a weapon is not "held" by a warrior class character. That's how I understand weapons at least.

Then a weapon would be discarded after battle which is not how they work. They have to have a link to the bearer.

Please read the REG glossary entry for Weapons. I believe it's also found on the insert from Kings booster packs. Then let us know if you have questions about what everyone is telling you.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: RedemptionAggie on May 27, 2017, 07:16:05 PM
So, if you have one of the Horses on a character that can't use the play ability (i.e., Egyptian Horses on Egyptian Archer) and band the character in with someone who can use the play ability (any other Egyptian), can you "play" Horses on the other character then keep it on the character that can't use the play after battle?

Example: Egyptian Wise Men bands to Egyptian Archer with Egyptian Horses.  Wise Men uses Horses to interrupt, draw, play, then Horses goes back to Archer after battle.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: NathanW on May 27, 2017, 08:41:31 PM
Outside of battle weapons are held and follow the bearer.

Except as far as I know, that's still the same in battle or else Weapons would be discarded after battle.

Quote
Weapon-class Enhancement
......
Following battle resolution, when enhancements are normally discarded, a Warrior-Class
character’s controller may decide to keep one weapon-class enhancement on the warrior class
character

Why would a weapon have to be discarded after battle if they are only held outside of battle? I think the REG could be clearer when exactly there is a link between a weapon and character.
Title: Re: Chamber of Angels Q
Post by: TheHobbit13 on May 27, 2017, 09:13:34 PM
PSA detach your Sword of the Spirit after battle LOL  :police:
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal