Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on August 23, 2013, 01:45:35 PM
-
This. The CBP LS is so powerful because not even SoG or the FBTN LS negate it. You need a Covenant active.
The new SoG effectively negates it, though, as removing it from play means it's ability isn't active. ;)
Actually, if it's during battle phase I believe that it remains active for the end of the phase. So if you attack, play SoG, the first evil enhancement is still CPB.
Is this true? I've never completely understood if CBN/I/P-granting cards actually give those cards CBN/I/P (like gained abilities) or if it just puts like a protective bubble over the field that those cards are under and I/N/P abilities cannot penetrate.
Example of why this matters: If I rescue with Isaiah and band in Angel of His Presence after that, does AoHP retain CBN status for subsequent battles?
-
This. The CBP LS is so powerful because not even SoG or the FBTN LS negate it. You need a Covenant active.
The new SoG effectively negates it, though, as removing it from play means it's ability isn't active. ;)
Actually, if it's during battle phase I believe that it remains active for the end of the phase. So if you attack, play SoG, the first evil enhancement is still CPB.
Is this true? I've never completely understood if CBN/I/P-granting cards actually give those cards CBN/I/P (like gained abilities) or if it just puts like a protective bubble over the field that those cards are under and I/N/P abilities cannot penetrate.
Example of why this matters: If I rescue with Isaiah and band in Angel of His Presence after that, does AoHP retain CBN status for subsequent battles?
No, his ability would only be CBN until the currant battle phase is over. I think...
-
Unless they're negated, abilities always remain active until the end of the phase and in the case of cards that are cbn or inherently cbn because of their such and such cbn/p/I ability, those cards remain active until the end of the phase. If I attacked you with a somehow banded Isaiah and Angel of His Presence and you play CM on Isaiah and block with KoT then you would still keep the card from AoHP's draw. Next turn, or even next phase if you played Grapes and attack with AoHP his ability loses CBN status and could be negated.
-
I'm not denying that continuous abilities (fixed that from your post) last until the end of the phase, what I'm wondering is if CBN/I/P-granting abilities are continuous abilities or triggered gained abilities. Because triggers, even ones that aren't negated, don't trigger if the card it's on is no longer in play.
-
As far as I know it's just a continuous ability.
Quote from REG:
Default Conditions
Cannot be negated abilities last until the end of the phase in which they are used.
-
As far as I know it's just a continuous ability.
Quote from REG:
Default Conditions
Cannot be negated abilities last until the end of the phase in which they are used.
Is that the listing for "Cannot be negated" or for abilities that grant "cannot be negated"? Because the above quote is still missing the distinction between instant and continuous abilities, so I'm not entirely sure to what specifically if's referring.