Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Scottie_ffgamer on March 03, 2009, 08:52:40 PM

Title: CBN on Forgotten History
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on March 03, 2009, 08:52:40 PM
Forgotten History - Select up to four cards from one opponent’s discard pile and remove them from the game. The battle immediately ends. Cannot be negated.

I believe there was a thread somewhere close to this same idea, but I cannot find it.  Does the CBN phrase at the end include both of the prior abilities or only the battle ending ability?
Title: Re: CBN on Forgotten History
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on March 03, 2009, 08:54:06 PM
The CBN includes the entire ability.  Also, when the battle ends, you could not play a negate card even if you could.  End the battle does just that without checking for init.
Title: Re: CBN on Forgotten History
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on March 03, 2009, 08:56:06 PM
Right, but say it was BBN and you play it, you still get to remove the cards from your op's discard pile, correct?
Title: Re: CBN on Forgotten History
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 03, 2009, 08:57:56 PM
I agree that the entire ability is CBN and that a negate would not be possible anyway after the battle has ended. I think the CBN was given so that you could play this card in a "fight by the numbers" situation. "Cannot be prevented" would have been sufficient, but nobody says CBP since CBN is cooler.  8)
Title: Re: CBN on Forgotten History
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 03, 2009, 08:59:53 PM
I agree that the entire ability is CBN and that a negate would not be possible anyway after the battle has ended. I think the CBN was given so that you could play this card in a "fight by the numbers" situation. "Cannot be prevented" would have been sufficient, but nobody says CBP since CBN is cooler.  8)

The CPB in Desolate Gateways works just fine with me when i use Brown Sitelock.   :)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal