Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Nameless on February 29, 2012, 11:56:54 AM

Title: Can Joe Before Pharaoh negate Gates of Sam?
Post by: Nameless on February 29, 2012, 11:56:54 AM
I have Gates of Sam out. My opponent attacks with Joe, and I block with Omri and search deck for a Sam site and kill Joe. Can he play Joe Before Pharaoh to negate Gates and save himself?


Gates of Samaria (RA2)

Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect evil Kings of Israel in your territory from opponents. When you play a Samaria Site, increase your evil King of Israel 6/6 to decrease a character 6/6. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Kings 7:1 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

See also:

Increase or Decrease Abilities

Protect

King Omri (Ki)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 6 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search your draw pile for one Samaria Site and put in play. Land Purchase cannot be negated. • Play As: Search your deck for one Samaria Site and place in play. Land Purchase cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, King (Israel), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: I Kings 16:23 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Uncommon)

See also:

Cannot be Negate

Place

Search

Joseph Before Pharaoh (FF2)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 1 / 1 • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a son of Jacob, negate opponent’s evil or neutral card. If it’s a human, capture it to opponent’s Land of Bondage, otherwise put it beneath deck. • Play As: If used by a son of Jacob, negate opponent’s evil or neutral card. If it’s a human, capture it to opponent’s Land of Bondage, otherwise place it beneath deck. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 41:14 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers Extended booster packs (None)

See also:

Capture

Negate

Place
Title: Re: Can Joe Before Pharaoh negate Gates of Sam?
Post by: TheHobbit13 on February 29, 2012, 12:02:24 PM
Yes (it would go beneath deck), from the decrease, but remember Joe is protected from discard so he doesn't have to hit gates.
Title: Re: Can Joe Before Pharaoh negate Gates of Sam?
Post by: Praeceps on March 01, 2012, 10:32:26 PM
Yes (it would go beneath deck), from the decrease, but remember Joe is protected from discard so he doesn't have to hit gates.

Yes and no. Joe is protected from discard only while in battle as it's not a "while in play" ability. If he returned to territory decreased to 0/0 from Gates he'd be tossed once he hit territory.
Title: Re: Can Joe Before Pharaoh negate Gates of Sam?
Post by: TheHobbit13 on March 01, 2012, 10:40:34 PM
I was assuming he would just hit omri, but you are right.
Title: Re: Can Joe Before Pharaoh negate Gates of Sam?
Post by: SomeKittens on March 02, 2012, 09:29:35 AM
I was assuming he would just hit omri, but you are right.
Omri's useless without Gates.  Bottomdecking Gates is probably the better idea, as long as you can back it up with something else to kill Omri.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal