Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: lightningninja on August 29, 2011, 07:47:12 PM

Title: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: lightningninja on August 29, 2011, 07:47:12 PM
Can I have both Gibeonite Trickery's in my deck, even though they both have the same name and title and reference (I couldn't resist).
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: SomeKittens on August 29, 2011, 07:51:03 PM
All enhancements are considered to be generic, to answer the title question.  As to the actual question, I'm never quite sure.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Chronic Apathy on August 29, 2011, 07:56:49 PM
Same art + Same name = Same card.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 29, 2011, 07:58:05 PM
That's the rule for characters.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: MitchRobStew on August 29, 2011, 08:17:26 PM
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/gibeonite-trickery-and-gibeonite-trickery/msg434196/#msg434196 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/gibeonite-trickery-and-gibeonite-trickery/msg434196/#msg434196)

Same Art + Same Title = same card.  This is true for ALL characters and enhancements.  See King of Tyrus (Gold vs. Orange).  See also Gibeonite Trickery (brown vs. black).

Same Title + Same Brigade = same card.  This is true for enhancements and UNIQUE characters.  See Gabriel (Warriors vs Disciples).  See also Ointment (Warriors? vs. Deck C?)

Same Generic Title + Different art = different card.  This is true for Generic characters only.  See Pharisees, Pharisees, Pharisees.

Different art + Different Brigade = different card.  This is true for characters and enhancements.  See Bow and Arrow (good gold) and Bow and Arrow (gray).  See also David (red) and David (green).  See also Fortify Site (gray) and Fortify Site (black).

Its the rule for enhancements as well.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 29, 2011, 08:44:56 PM
Man, these unannounced new rules are really becoming bothersome.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: lightningninja on August 29, 2011, 09:54:13 PM
Man, these unannounced new rules are really becoming bothersome.
Agreed. Also that's slightly dissapointing... =(
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Gabe on August 29, 2011, 11:26:44 PM
How many of you use both AoCp and AoC in your 50 card purple deck? I've never seen it done, nor tried it, because there's been a long standing rule that they are the same card for deck building purposes. The same applies to both Gibeonite Trickery.

In a 100 card T1 deck or a T2 deck you could play them both in battle because enhancements are not considered unique for purposes of being in play. Otherwise we wouldn't put things like "limit 1" on Abom and Protection of Jerusalem.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: lightningninja on August 29, 2011, 11:37:26 PM
How many of you use both AoCp and AoC in your 50 card purple deck? I've never seen it done, nor tried it, because there's been a long standing rule that they are the same card for deck building purposes. The same applies to both Gibeonite Trickery.

In a 100 card T1 deck or a T2 deck you could play them both in battle because enhancements are not considered unique for purposes of being in play. Otherwise we wouldn't put things like "limit 1" on Abom and Protection of Jerusalem.
Well that's the same brigade, but yeah I see what you mean.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 30, 2011, 02:53:37 AM
Yeah, AoC and AoCP are in the same brigade so that's not really an apt comparison.

I don't mind it being the rule, I just don't like it suddenly being the rule.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: lightningninja on August 30, 2011, 01:21:20 PM
Yeah, AoC and AoCP are in the same brigade so that's not really an apt comparison.

I don't mind it being the rule, I just don't like it suddenly being the rule.
Although in the playtester's defense... has this even been a problem before? It might have been but I can't remember if so. Has a card ever had same picture, same art and different brigade before?
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on August 30, 2011, 01:31:21 PM
Swift Horses - so it's been an issue since at least FooF.

Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 30, 2011, 01:31:38 PM
Brass Serpent
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: lightningninja on August 30, 2011, 01:32:23 PM
Brass Serpent
That's multicolored, you can only have one. Swift Horses is a good point, and I honestly never asked if I could put them in...
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 30, 2011, 01:33:00 PM
It meets your criteria bro.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: lightningninja on August 30, 2011, 01:33:55 PM
It meets your criteria bro.
Well technically, but also it is the same brigade, because multi-colored enhancements ARE gold, they are just everything else too.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 30, 2011, 01:34:25 PM
So technically I'm correct. Therefore, I'm correct. GG NO RE, BEING RIGHT IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN MAKING SENSE.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Professoralstad on August 30, 2011, 01:59:15 PM
David's Sling
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 30, 2011, 02:52:24 PM
I think the issue is more that never before has there been a plurality like this that would be likely to be in the same deck. Idk that I've ever heard of Gold/Crimson being used.
Title: Re: Can enhancements be unique?
Post by: EmJayBee83 on August 30, 2011, 07:28:17 PM
Helmet of Brass
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal