Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DaClock on August 16, 2009, 11:47:57 PM

Title: Blocking?
Post by: DaClock on August 16, 2009, 11:47:57 PM
Thorn in the Flesh
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place this card on a Hero. It cannot be removed by a Healing card. Each time holder's demon blocks that Hero, holder discards a card at random from opponent's hand. • Play As: Place this card on a Hero. Hero is protected from healing. Each time holder’s demon blocks that Hero, holder discards a card at random from opponent’s hand.

If I block with Fallen Angel banded to Prince of this World do I get to discard 2 cards? Or can my demons only block once per turn?
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 16, 2009, 11:50:23 PM
Another question about this card, since I just added it to my deck.  :D

If I place it in battle, do I get to discard from his hand immediately?
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: ChristianSoldier on August 16, 2009, 11:51:29 PM
I think that only counts as one block, and I think only the initial bringing of characters counts as the block.  But I am fairly certain it only works once, regardless of the reasoning.

And I don't think it will work if you are already in battle.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: DaClock on August 16, 2009, 11:55:55 PM
"Blocking is the attempt to prevent a rescue. Only Evil Characters may block. Placing an Evil Character into the Field of Battle constitutes blocking."

- REG - Glossary of Terms - Definitions - Block
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 17, 2009, 12:07:18 AM
"Blocking is the attempt to prevent a rescue. Only Evil Characters may block. Placing an Evil Character into the Field of Battle constitutes blocking."

- REG - Glossary of Terms - Definitions - Block

That definition still needs to be taken in context. "Block" is a term referenced in the rulebook as part of the Battle Phase. Just placing an EC in battle is not always a "block" as evidenced by a side battle between ECs.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: DaClock on August 17, 2009, 12:09:33 AM
True, you have to be using them against heroes. This is what is happening with multiple demons banding to block a rescue.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 17, 2009, 12:11:11 AM
The RA starts. You block. It is a one-time event.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: SirNobody on August 17, 2009, 01:17:16 AM
Hey,

The word "blocks" in the special ability of Thorn in the Flesh is referring to the action of initially presenting a blocker.  It is triggered by that event not by an evil character entering the state of being a blocker.  That event only happens once per battle, so Thorn in the Flesh can only be triggered once per battle.

(And Thorn in the Flesh must be on the character prior to the event happening in order for the ability to be triggered.)

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: The Guardian on August 17, 2009, 01:20:42 AM
Now if you had 5 copies of Thorn in the Flesh on the same Hero... ::)
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Smokey on August 17, 2009, 01:26:41 AM
Now if you had 5 copies of Thorn in the Flesh on the same Hero... ::)

and 5 sins in the camp  ::).
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: FresnoRedemption on August 18, 2009, 06:49:31 PM
Now if you had 5 copies of Thorn in the Flesh on the same Hero... ::)

and 5 sins in the camp  ::).

Which 5? :P
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 18, 2009, 10:32:00 PM
Which 5? :P

The most common sins in the camp:

1. Starting an open campfire during Red Flag Warnings.
2. Feeding the wild animals.
3. Using an inflatable mattress on rocky ground.
4. Forgetting the insect repellent.
5. Being a child and saying "Can we go home now" within the first few hours of arriving.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on August 24, 2009, 01:42:41 AM
To resurrect this thread -

Does this mean that House In Bethany doesn't activate if Seven Sons of Sceva blocks and Exchanges? (or is the same happens against a hero with Thorns?)

House in Bethany
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from evil cards. If opponent's demon blocks your Luke or John Hero, reveal the top seven cards of opponent's deck. You may discard one revealed evil card or put a revealed Lost Soul in play. • Attributes: Holds up to three Heroes with a Luke or John reference • Identifiers: Holds up to three Heroes with a Luke or John reference • Verse: John 12:1 • Availability: Rock of Ages (Set 12)

Seven Sons of Sceva
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: 7 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate and discard Three Nails. You may exchange this Evil Character with an orange brigade demon in discard pile. Cannot be prevented by a good card. • Identifiers: NT Male Human • Verse: Acts 19:14-15 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Uncommon)
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 24, 2009, 02:37:42 AM
Since part of blocking is using the EC's SA, both SSoS and the demon he exchanges for are the initial blockers. This means Michael can use Angel's Sword and your Luke/John hero can use HiB against SSoS when he uses his ability.

(Bumper Sticker: "How's My Ruling?")
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Smokey on August 24, 2009, 03:46:46 AM
Since part of blocking is using the EC's SA, both SSoS and the demon he exchanges for are the initial blockers. This means Michael can use Angel's Sword and your Luke/John hero can use HiB against SSoS when he uses his ability.

(Bumper Sticker: "How's My Ruling?")

What if I have a luke/john angel with Angel's sword  :o. I just broke the game.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Arch Angel on August 24, 2009, 05:37:35 AM
The game's been broken since the printing of House in Bethany because both Luke and John are not Luke/John heroes.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Smokey on August 24, 2009, 01:32:40 PM
The game's been broken since the printing of House in Bethany because both Luke and John are not Luke/John heroes.

 +1
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: STAMP on August 24, 2009, 03:05:00 PM
Interesting.  I would have guessed that a thread entitled, "Blocking?", started by DaClock would have had sommething to do with football.   :laugh:
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: SirNobody on August 24, 2009, 08:50:10 PM
Hey,

Does this mean that House In Bethany doesn't activate if Seven Sons of Sceva blocks and Exchanges? (or is the same happens against a hero with Thorns?)

To steal a page of out Kevin Shride's book, you make my head hurt.

I believe you are correct.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: lightningninja on August 24, 2009, 10:07:09 PM
Yeah... you get to block once, with one character.

I had a speed deck based on this once. Eight demons + seige + thorn in the flesh + all hope lost.

Good game, sir.  ;D
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: RTSmaniac on September 13, 2010, 11:25:07 AM
Has this ruling changed?
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 13, 2010, 11:40:41 AM
Has this ruling changed?

It seems that the ruling is as follows:

"Block" is the initial placement of an evil character into battle against a hero(es). The entirety of the term is the physical act of placement (which is a choice by the player), rather than the abilities/scenarios involved.

I would think, though, that this may cause problems with cards that say "If block is successful" or the like.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Master_Chi on September 14, 2010, 09:16:02 AM
Since part of blocking is using the EC's SA, both SSoS and the demon he exchanges for are the initial blockers. This means Michael can use Angel's Sword and your Luke/John hero can use HiB against SSoS when he uses his ability.

(Bumper Sticker: "How's My Ruling?")

What if I have a luke/john angel with Angel's sword  :o. I just broke the game.

Isn't WA's Gabriel a Luke angel?
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 14, 2010, 10:20:00 AM
Not warrior-class.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Master_Chi on September 14, 2010, 06:09:45 PM
Not warrior-class.

Relevance of non-warrior class is....? Not to be sarcastic, just a clarification question.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: lightningninja on September 14, 2010, 06:31:10 PM
He can't have angel's sword.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Master_Chi on September 15, 2010, 09:46:50 AM
He can't have angel's sword.

He could, it would just have to be played as a normal enhancement and he wouldn't retain it.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: DDiceRC on September 15, 2010, 05:53:28 PM
The game's been broken since the printing of House in Bethany because both Luke and John are not Luke/John heroes.
Luke can't be a Luke hero, since, even though he wrote the book, the events covered are before his time of conversion and activity.

John could be a John hero, but he never refers to himself by name except in the disciple list passages.

Luke should be an Acts hero, though. I can see that becoming a new NT theme, possibly in blue (C/D blue heroes Barnabas, Silas, and Mark (with a new verse) form a start).
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 16, 2010, 03:10:35 AM
Luke can too be a Luke hero. Just use the intro as his verse, and since it's from the book of, well, LUKE, it will be perfectly clear.
Title: Re: Blocking?
Post by: DDiceRC on September 16, 2010, 09:33:18 AM
Using that it is possible, but I still think Luke actually fits better as an Acts hero. (I'm such a contrarian.)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal