New Redemption Grab Bag now includes an assortment of 500 cards from five (5) different expansion sets. Available at Cactus website.
Wouldn't StS instead the discard by game rule to a convert and move to another Character?
My thinking was the same as Praeceps, but I think both interpretations are valid--do we have any other "Then" cards that are worded similarly?
There have been plenty of times where people have had to rip it with it having discarded nothing due to protection.
And don't consider my thoughts correct on your initial question, The Guardian is an Elder so his thoughts are more official than mine. I'd wait to get confirmation either way from another Elder or REP.
I've not ignored this thread. I am trying to figure out the answer to something related first for certain, then I will return