Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SomeKittens on March 11, 2011, 11:33:48 PM

Title: Am.Slave
Post by: SomeKittens on March 11, 2011, 11:33:48 PM
Do you have to search your deck and add a human evil character to battle?
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on March 11, 2011, 11:38:04 PM
If you have a deck yes.

Otherwise you can still place him in the opponents land of bondage even if you can't search.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: SomeKittens on March 11, 2011, 11:46:55 PM
Ah.  I thought each section was optional based on how Reach works.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on March 11, 2011, 11:53:41 PM
Yeah, wait for another Elder, because that's a very tenative yes - I thought maybe we'd said previously that you can always pay a cost without getting the benefit, but I'm not sure.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: Gabe on March 12, 2011, 12:00:07 AM
The Amalekites' Slave (RA)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gold/Brown • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If blocking, you may place this card in opponent's Land of Bondage to search your deck for a human Evil Character and add it to the battle. • Play As: If blocking, you may choose to have your opponent capture this card to search your deck for a human Evil Character and add to battle the Evil Character.

You get to choose whether or not you want TaS to capture himself.  If you choose to have him capture himself you have to perform the rest of the ability.  When you search your deck for an Evil Character, if you find one then you must add it to the battle.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: stefferweffer on March 12, 2011, 02:06:01 PM
And if you search, and find no evil character, then what?  Frankly I think a lot of people have been playing this card wrong if this is how it works.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 12, 2011, 03:46:54 PM
And if you search, and find no evil character, then what?  Frankly I think a lot of people have been playing this card wrong if this is how it works.

Then you add nothing to battle. If many people are playing this differently, then I think that is more likely a result of seeing someone else play it incorrectly.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 12, 2011, 06:58:31 PM
can you search for an EC and not add it to battle?
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: Master KChief on March 12, 2011, 07:05:13 PM
no, you must add it to battle if you find at least one legal target.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 12, 2011, 08:37:03 PM
based on the Unknown Nation ruling- If it is ignored, it can go to hand?
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: SomeKittens on March 12, 2011, 08:39:31 PM
If the new EC is ignored, it goes to hand, doing as much as you can.
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: SirNobody on March 17, 2011, 02:23:03 PM
Hey,

based on the Unknown Nation ruling- If it is ignored, it can go to hand?

Can you point me at that ruling?  I'm pretty sure that if the character is ignored it is not targetable by the add to battle ability.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Am.Slave
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 17, 2011, 02:38:27 PM
It is if it's a search+add to battle. The search is still carried out.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal