Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: MitchRobStew on March 02, 2009, 12:12:13 AM

Title: Abram/Abraham
Post by: MitchRobStew on March 02, 2009, 12:12:13 AM
Abram/Abraham

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 10 / 11 • Class: None • Special Ability: Hero starts as Abram. After he makes a successful rescue, he becomes Abraham and can interrupt and prevent all special abilities on all Lost Soul cards except the Proverbs 22:14 Lost Souls card.

Does Abraham's ability count as a gained ability?  Is it negated if I play Abraham’s Servant to Ur? 

Thanks,
Mitch
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 02, 2009, 01:19:15 AM
The #s are gained. The Negate ls ability is not. It would be negated by abes serve.
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 02, 2009, 04:41:59 PM
Hmmmm......

That's an interesting question, and I'm not sure I agree with RR on this one (no offense RR). This may be an older ruling that I missed, but I think an argument can be made for this being a "gained" ability. The "after he makes a successful rescue" part is a trigger for a permanently gained ability. The ability does not reset after battle.

Since noone else has commented, I assume that the PTBs agree with RR, but could there be some written confirmation on this? I am indeed curious.
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 02, 2009, 05:19:08 PM
... (no offense RR)...
that is one of the funnier double meanings that I've seen on this forum :)

As for the question, I thought it was a gained ability, but I'm not sure.
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 02, 2009, 05:31:13 PM
... (no offense RR)...
that is one of the funnier double meanings that I've seen on this forum :)

HAHAHA! :rollin:

However, I'm not sure either. I can see both sides of the argument, but I dont have anything to prove either side right or wrong. Would Saul/Paul fit into this category as well... making him the bane of Poision defenses?!
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: SirNobody on March 02, 2009, 06:29:55 PM
Hey,

I would lean towards it being a gained ability.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: crustpope on March 02, 2009, 07:36:31 PM

However, I'm not sure either. I can see both sides of the argument, but I dont have anything to prove either side right or wrong. Would Saul/Paul fit into this category as well... making him the bane of Poision defenses?!

I know for a fact that they have ruled that the first part of paul's SA can be negated, (hero may not be poisoned) but the second part may not.  So that would seem to suppose that Paul's is not a gained ability.  This is probably because they are two totally different characters (saul-evil and Paul-good)  therefore Saul did not gain these abilities, The Character just became a different person named paul that has those abilities  ( yes I know they are the same person but from a game standpoint, perhaps this is the best way to look at it.)

As far as  Abram, he does change his name, but he is still good so perhaps that is the difference?
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 02, 2009, 07:39:19 PM
Hmmmm......

That's an interesting question, and I'm not sure I agree with RR on this one (no offense RR). This may be an older ruling that I missed, but I think an argument can be made for this being a "gained" ability. The "after he makes a successful rescue" part is a trigger for a permanently gained ability. The ability does not reset after battle.

Since noone else has commented, I assume that the PTBs agree with RR, but could there be some written confirmation on this? I am indeed curious.
Lol, and Last I knew they did. I think the logic was though it was gained on a previous turn it is still printed on his card? idk...I don't make um, I just break um.
Title: Re: Abram/Abraham
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 03, 2009, 06:00:05 PM
I think Abram/Abraham is distinct from Saul/Paul because of the "and" in A/A's SA. As soon as A/A is triggered, the ability activates and becomes permanent. Since it activated on a previous turn, it should not be negateable.

S/P, on the other hand, has the trigger that makes him Paul. That is the part that would be considered the "gained" ability and would not be negateable. Paul's immunity (or is it ignore?) to poisons is a separate SA that is a standard ability, not a triggered ability. Therefore it is not a "gained" ability and would be negateable.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal