Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Wings of Music on July 30, 2010, 04:56:19 PM

Title: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Wings of Music on July 30, 2010, 04:56:19 PM
So I am playing a type one game witth my friend. I have a two liner lost soul in my territory. He won a rescue attempt, and therefore I have choose which lost soul he gets. Now, I have Son of God in my hand. If he rescues the two liner, and I play Son of God on it, is that two for me? or one for each of us?

~Wings
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: adotson85 on July 30, 2010, 04:57:52 PM
You each receive half, so one a piece.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Master KChief on July 30, 2010, 04:58:21 PM
one each. sharing is good! :)
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 30, 2010, 05:02:20 PM
Just for reference, you would not be able to use your SoG on the 3-Liner if your opponent already rescued half. You only can on the 2-Liner.

The result is as the others have already said.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Wings of Music on July 30, 2010, 05:06:18 PM
Are you sure?...because technically, it does not count until it is in your land of redemption. Therefore, would it not count in a sense as two for me, since I have rescued it last and it is now in my land of redemption?

Also, since were on the topic of the two liner. If my friend has already rescued four lost souls, and won another rescue attempt, but one it by resueing a two liner for the first time. Does he win? or does he have to rescue it0 once more to get it in his land of redemption to actually claim victory?

~Wings
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Wings of Music on July 30, 2010, 05:07:01 PM
Btw for the record, I would rather have it all for myself  ;)
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: D-man on July 30, 2010, 05:09:07 PM
YMT, adotson, and MKC have it right.  Since each of you have rescued it once, why do you say that it's in your LoR but not his?  The 2-liner "must be rescued twice to count".  It has been rescued twice, so it counts. :)

He would not win.  A half-rescued 2-liner doesn't count for anything.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 30, 2010, 05:10:50 PM
1.Which Land of Redemption is not the issue. For the 2-liner, each player who made a rescue gets credit for one.
2. With 4 LS, rescuing half the 2-Liner is not a victory. The card must first be in a Land of Redemption.
3. With a 4-4 tie and your opponent having half the 2-Liner, you playing SoG on the 2-Liner would result in a 5-5 tie. That's weird.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Wings of Music on July 30, 2010, 05:13:15 PM
Alright, thank you all for replying quickly! Unless there is anybody else who would like to pitch in or disagree, problems are solved. I hope nobody runs into the "Two-Line Tie", Lol :)

Blessings upon you all,
~Wings
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: crustpope on July 30, 2010, 05:13:37 PM
If he has 4 LS's and you have 3 and you play Sog on the 2 liner, he wins 5-4  As YMT said if you rescue the 2 liner and you both have 4 then you both tie 5-5. ( I wonder..do you both get 3 points for that with 0 LS differential?  THe game ended before time expired so the game did not end in a time out tie, it ended in mutual victory!

Interesting debate!
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 30, 2010, 05:14:47 PM
I would assume that both players still get 1.5 points.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Alex_Olijar on July 30, 2010, 05:16:49 PM
A "mutually victory" is a tie for scoring purposes, I believe. It will only happen once a blue moon, so I doubt anyone here as even ever scored such a game.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Wings of Music on July 30, 2010, 05:18:06 PM
I am sure that blue moon will not be coming soon, but when did the 3/1.5 points come into this conversation? and what does the mean?
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 30, 2010, 05:38:40 PM
Sorry for the confusion, we were talking about tournament scoring.

3 points if you win before time expires
2 points if you are winning when time expires
1.5 points if the game ends in a tie
1 point if you are losing when time expires (your opponent does not have 5 LS)
0 points if you lose before time expires (your opponent has 5 LS)

This is specifically for Type 1 two-player and Sealed Deck.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: crustpope on July 30, 2010, 05:42:07 PM
I dont know.  I think you could make a case for both winning.  after all, what is the goal of the game to Rescue 5 LS's or to defeat your opponent?

A Bye is already considered a 3 point win with a 0 LS differential so technically you could say that a BYE is a winning tie with an invisible opponent.

Personally I think it might make for great strategy to reward someone with a 5-5 mutual vicotry 3 point win.
Title: Re: 2 Liner dilema..
Post by: Alex_Olijar on July 30, 2010, 05:50:22 PM
I dont know.  I think you could make a case for both winning.  after all, what is the goal of the game to Rescue 5 LS's or to defeat your opponent?

A Bye is already considered a 3 point win with a 0 LS differential so technically you could say that a BYE is a winning tie with an invisible opponent.

Personally I think it might make for great strategy to reward someone with a 5-5 mutual vicotry 3 point win.

I believe that the goal of the game is to get to 5 lost souls before your opponent does. Maybe I just play too much Speed though.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal