Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: soul seeker on September 29, 2011, 04:25:25 PM

Title: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: soul seeker on September 29, 2011, 04:25:25 PM
1) Can Grapes be played (and work) if a lone hero was removed by a Christian Martyr?

Type: Lamb • Special Ability: Discard an evil card in battle to shuffle all remaining characters in battle into owners’ decks. If the current rescuer doesn't have the most Redeemed Souls, he may begin a new battle. • Errata: Discard an evil card in battle to shuffle [return] all remaining characters in battle into owners’ decks. If no Heroes remain in battle and the current rescuer doesn't have the most Redeemed Souls, he may begin a new battle.

2) Does the CBN and draw 1 gained abilities work for Kings & Queens of Judah if they block from hand and not territory?

Gates of Jerusalem (P)
Type: Fortress • Special Ability: Protect evil Kings and Queens of Judah in your territory from opponents’ cards. If one blocks, its special ability cannot be negated and you may draw a card.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: ChristianSoldier on September 29, 2011, 04:27:39 PM
For number 1, so long as you discard an evil card in battle it works.

I'm not sure on question 2 though, a literal reading of it would suggest the king/queen would have to come from your territory, but I could also see it being interpreted as to allow any king or queen of Judah to get it.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on September 29, 2011, 04:29:22 PM
1: Yuppers.
2: There was a post on this some time ago. I'm 95% sure they have to come from your territory.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 29, 2011, 04:30:03 PM
2. Must come from territory.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: spicynumber1 on September 29, 2011, 04:34:52 PM
2. Must come from territory.

Why must it come from territory, isn't presenting a character the from hand considered blocking?
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on September 29, 2011, 04:37:43 PM
Why must it come from territory, isn't presenting a character the from hand considered blocking?
You're blocking, but the "one" refers to "Kings and Queens of Judah in your territory", not "Kings and Queens of Judah".
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: soul seeker on September 29, 2011, 06:30:02 PM
k, thanks.

1) I wasn't aware of Grapes working the way you guys are suggesting.  To me, if the hero is gone (in an unnegateable way), then the battle is over.  I'm glad that play wasn't game changing.

2) I disagree with you guy's conclusion because of the period after protection and before the CBN gained ability.  However, I will not argue it too much because it could go either way. Oh well, it could have been game changing but I'm pretty sure a block was still possible.  That is why practice and testing decks are such a good idea for future success.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: spicynumber1 on September 29, 2011, 06:33:42 PM
It should say:

Gates of Jerusalem (P)
Type: Fortress • Special Ability: Protect evil Kings and Queens of Judah in your territory from opponents’ cards. If one blocks (from territory), its special ability cannot be negated and you may draw a card.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: browarod on September 29, 2011, 06:37:22 PM
1) I wasn't aware of Grapes working the way you guys are suggesting.  To me, if the hero is gone (in an unnegateable way), then the battle is over.  I'm glad that play wasn't game changing.
When a character is removed from battle due to a special ability, there is always a chance for dominants (or other cards like Unknown Nation) to be played before the battle proceeds to resolution.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: soul seeker on September 29, 2011, 06:38:35 PM
It should say:

Gates of Jerusalem (P)
Type: Fortress • Special Ability: Protect evil Kings and Queens of Judah in your territory from opponents’ cards. If one blocks (from territory), its special ability cannot be negated and you may draw a card.
I agree and that is how I understood the card.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on September 29, 2011, 06:40:56 PM
1) I wasn't aware of Grapes working the way you guys are suggesting. 
Same with a lot of people. At nats I did this and my opponent wasn't aware of the rule, so we called an elder over. The first three elders asked got it wrong*. :O


*One changed his mind almost immediately after getting it wrong.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: Chronic Apathy on September 29, 2011, 07:20:17 PM
I'm sure the intention was for it be played the way you guys are suggesting, however, I agree with the apparently official ruling that it can only be Kings and Queens of Judah from territory. My argument (I was in the game with soulseeker where this came up) is that the way it's phrased, the card specifically targets "kings and queens of Judah in territory."
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: browarod on September 29, 2011, 07:48:07 PM
I could diagram the sentences grammatically to prove that "one" refers to "kings and queens of Judah in territory" but I wouldn't want to bore everyone. :P
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: lp670sv on September 29, 2011, 07:51:36 PM
The Grapes part has a potential to make a HUGE difference we would have shuffled our decks our draws would have been completely different I want a rematch!




Kidding. There was no way I was winning that game after your opening draw.
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: theselfevident on September 29, 2011, 08:18:39 PM
? on the Grapes part. Please, explain what happens after my hero is discarded by CM and I play GoW. Does the evil character get discarded and my discarded hero get shuffled? That seems odd if that is the case...
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: lp670sv on September 29, 2011, 08:20:16 PM
No the hero would not be shuffled because grapes says all cards left in battle and the hero has been discarded therefore it is not in battle
Title: Re: 2 Curious questions from RTS games...
Post by: browarod on September 29, 2011, 09:58:55 PM
No the hero would not be shuffled because grapes says all characters left in battle and the hero has been discarded therefore it is not in battle
FTFY :P
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal