Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: fyero on July 12, 2010, 08:39:28 PM

Title: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: fyero on July 12, 2010, 08:39:28 PM
If i play zeal for the lord and discard my opponents blocking evil character but there is no one else in play can i discard someone from my hand? This is how i understood the card to be because it says "Interrupt and discard two evil characters of different brigades. Cannot be negated if used by Phinehas, son of Eleazar." It does not say the character has to be in play.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: that one kid on July 12, 2010, 08:53:19 PM
As far as I know, yes you can. I did that at states and it was ruled that I could do that.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: Master KChief on July 12, 2010, 08:58:46 PM
no, cards default to in play if it does not specify. however, you can still discard just the one evil character in play.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: fyero on July 12, 2010, 09:16:14 PM
no, cards default to in play if it does not specify. however, you can still discard just the one evil character in play.

oh really? i thought the ability had to fully complete or is this a "do as much as u can" ability?
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: Crashfach2002 on July 12, 2010, 09:22:07 PM
If there are two different colored evil characters in play, you MUST discard two.  But if one of the colors is protected from discard then you tried to discard it but couldn't, you still get to discard the one not protected.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: fyero on July 12, 2010, 09:23:26 PM
well wut if there is only just ONE brigade in play...
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: Crashfach2002 on July 12, 2010, 09:25:55 PM
Then you discard that one brigade, and that is end of the story.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: Master KChief on July 12, 2010, 09:27:22 PM
yes, it is a 'do as much as you can' ability.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: TheJaylor on July 13, 2010, 04:25:08 PM
but you also have to discard your own EC unfortunetly  :'(
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 13, 2010, 06:24:10 PM
If it is in play.
Title: Re: Zeal for the Lord?
Post by: Crashfach2002 on July 13, 2010, 06:36:28 PM
If it is in play.

And a different color than the one you are targeting!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal