Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: Bap7 on September 03, 2009, 12:18:39 PM

Title: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Bap7 on September 03, 2009, 12:18:39 PM
If you are in a stalemate (and you are the hero) and you have an enhancement that you could play, can you play that enhancement or does the battle end right then? Please explain, I never really got the stalemate thing! :-\
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: New Raven BR on September 03, 2009, 12:25:03 PM
whose initiative to play was it?

the way i see it is when you can play cards you either:

have the initiative or your opponent passes so you can play the next card.
if you can't and both of you pass then both characters both hero and evil go back to territory and no soul is saved
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Bap7 on September 03, 2009, 12:27:25 PM
I don't even know how to decide whos initiative it is!!! :o >:(
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: New Raven BR on September 03, 2009, 12:30:39 PM
if you played the last card and caused the stalemate then it's your opponent's initiative to play an enhancment, and if he played last then it's your's to play the next enhancment
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on September 03, 2009, 12:33:09 PM
In a stalemate, neither the hero or the EC can kill each other.  Whoever did not play the last card has initiative.  They can play, or pass.  If they pass, it is your initiative.  If you pass back, the battle ends and both sides return to territory.  No Lost Soul is rescued.
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: New Raven BR on September 03, 2009, 12:38:18 PM
In a stalemate, neither the hero or the EC can kill each other.  Whoever did not play the last card has initiative.  They can play, or pass.  If they pass, it is your initiative.  If you pass back, the battle ends and both sides return to territory.  No Lost Soul is rescued.
i just said that generally speaking
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Bap7 on September 03, 2009, 12:49:30 PM
THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!! Very quick response ;D What about Immunes? How exactly do they work? If Red Dragon is in FoB against Tribal Elders How does the battle end? I know the hero has initiative but after that how can the hero win?
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: xCaLeBx on September 03, 2009, 01:01:53 PM
you'd have to do something like Reach of Desperation then AoCP your interrupting the immunity then discarding him
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 03, 2009, 01:02:32 PM
Red Dragon vs. Tribal Elder has the EC winning, since his 5 strength is equal to Tribal Elder's 5 toughness.  Tribal Elder can survive the battle by increasing his numbers, but in order to win the battle, Red Dragon's immunity has to be interrupted/negated or bypassed (i.e., band in an angel).
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Bap7 on September 03, 2009, 01:23:40 PM
But what if i get caught to where Red Dragon is immune but can't beat my toughness?
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on September 03, 2009, 01:33:16 PM
then it is a stalemate.  you can't kill him and he isn't killing you.
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on September 03, 2009, 01:33:39 PM
But what if i get caught to where Red Dragon is immune but can't beat my toughness?

Then it would be a stalemate and you both would go back I believe
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 03, 2009, 01:38:22 PM
The battle either ends in a stalemate or you negate his immunity.  In some cases (Red Dragon with angels, Nero/PotW with banded heroes, etc.) you can bypass the immunity.
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: Bap7 on September 03, 2009, 02:07:09 PM
Gocha! Thank you guys! ;D
Title: Re: Stalemate?!?
Post by: The Guardian on September 03, 2009, 02:09:28 PM
Also, all this stuff is explained in the rulebook so that's often the best place to look first.  :)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal