Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: Nicheys on July 28, 2009, 07:59:37 AM
-
There is an example in the 10th anniversary rule book on page 28. Can anyone tell me why when placing RIVER FLOWING FROM TEMPLE on HOSEA which is a purple brigade (I think) it can band with GABRIEL which is a silver brigade? I would have thought even though the special ability said 'May add a HERO from your hand to the battle' that it would have had to have been from the same brigade. Why is this not the case?
Thanks for your help.
-
Since River Flowing from the Temple doesn't say the hero has to be purple, you are allowed to band in a hero of any brigade.
Some cards, like Paul’s Books and Parchments (green enhancement, "Hero may band to any N.T. Hero in gold, white, or blue brigade."), do say that the hero must be from a certain brigade. In these cases, you can only band a gold, white, or blue brigade hero.
-
Unless the card adding the hero into battle specifies a brigade of the hero then it can be any Hero. Since the Card says "A Hero", not "A Purple Brigade Hero" it can be silver. Look at Banding on pg. 38 of the rulebook for more information. This card is pretty much a banding card. I hope this helps.
-
Yes, thanks that does help a great deal. Now if it had said it could band with any hero...does that mean I could grab one of my opponent's heroes as prior in the example it says that SAPH may band to one warrior class Philistine evil character and then the person grabbed an evil character from his opponents team? That blew me away...never had thought about that or the fact that using a multicolor enhancement would allow you to switch brigades. I love, love, love all the intricasies of this game...
Again I'll say it...I LOVE THIS GAME!! As I had said earlier, we're oldsters...but guess what, we introduced a lady in her 70's to the game last night. She's intrigued!
-
...never had thought about that or the fact that using a multicolor enhancement would allow you to switch brigades.
Umm I don't think it works that way. A Multicolor enhancement can simply be played on any evil brigade, it doesn't allow you to play any color enhancement on the evil character.
-
hey,
Welcome to the game and to these message boards!!
It's great to hear that this is a game for all ages! We've even built some decks with no special abilities - just the numbers - so that young kids who can't even read can play the game.
Have you found someone in your area who could show you some of the ins-and-outs of the game?
L8er,
Gil
-
No we haven't found anyone to teach us the ins and outs. We're gleaning stuff from the manual and the forums.
As far as being able to switch brigades after using a multi colored enhancement I just reread the example on page 27 of the 10th anniversary rule book it says: that you're playing Mark a BLUE brigade hero and then play BELT OF TRUTH a multi colored enhancement, then you play COURAGE which has a special ability 'Holder may add an additional hero from his territory or hand to the battle'. I think you are right. I misinterpretted that completeley. For some reason I was thinking the brigade had changed color after the BELT OF TRUTH, but that's not the case, it was after COURAGE which had the special ability and since the RIVER FLOWING FROM TEMPLE was explained to me I see it was that special ability that allowed the brigade change.
Whew, I'm glad I brought that up. I'd hate to have been playing wrong... and I do me that.
Thanks for the clarification 8)
CYA
-
Great to hear you love the game.
One minor thing is you don't have to bold all of the card names
-
why? i like it. makes it easier to find the card names.
-
And yes, that is exactly why I bolded them...