Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: burlow on July 23, 2012, 07:44:03 AM

Title: Add card to battle via evil spawn regardless of brigade?
Post by: burlow on July 23, 2012, 07:44:03 AM
It's Special Ability says reveal bottom card of deck, if it is evil, add to hand or battle. Can the card be added to battle regardless of brigade? This seems unusual for a common SA.
And the same thing with Divination (TeP).
Title: Re: Add card to battle via evil spawn regardless of brigade?
Post by: EmJayBee83 on July 23, 2012, 07:47:40 AM
I believe that you could add a card of any brigade to battle. The problem is that unless the brigade of the enhancement matches the brigade of an EC in battle, the enhancement sits there doing nothing for you. It will never activate, and it will only add numbers if you somehow band in an EC from the appropriate brigade.

You probably want to move questions like this to the Ruling Questions board.
Title: Re: Add card to battle via evil spawn regardless of brigade?
Post by: sk on July 23, 2012, 04:16:59 PM
Instant Abilities > Play an Enhancement > Default Conditions
An enhancement targeted by a play an enhancement ability during the battle phase can only be played on a character that is in the current battle and is controlled by the player that controls the targeted enhancement.

Evil Spawn (Pi)
Special Ability: Reveal the bottom card of draw pile. If it is an evil card, take it into hand or add it to the battle.
Play As: Reveal the bottom card of your deck. If it is an evil card, place it in your hand or band it into battle.

Is that "play as" accurate? Seems like a "replace all" error.
Title: Re: Add card to battle via evil spawn regardless of brigade?
Post by: Mr.Hiatus on July 23, 2012, 04:26:45 PM
This will probably be moved to ruling thread soon, but my answer would be no to different brigade. Unless the card states you can play regardless of color, then it defaults to game rules.
Title: Re: Add card to battle via evil spawn regardless of brigade?
Post by: Drrek on July 23, 2012, 04:30:24 PM
Instant Abilities > Play an Enhancement > Default Conditions
An enhancement targeted by a play an enhancement ability during the battle phase can only be played on a character that is in the current battle and is controlled by the player that controls the targeted enhancement.

Evil Spawn (Pi)
Special Ability: Reveal the bottom card of draw pile. If it is an evil card, take it into hand or add it to the battle.
Play As: Reveal the bottom card of your deck. If it is an evil card, place it in your hand or band it into battle.

Is that "play as" accurate? Seems like a "replace all" error.

The play as is incorrect.

This will probably be moved to ruling thread soon, but my answer would be no to different brigade. Unless the card states you can play regardless of color, then it defaults to game rules.

It was already posted in the ruling thread as well.  And you can add the enhancements to battle regardless of brigade, but they do not activate unless they have a character of the correct color to activate on.

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/adding-cards-to-battle-via-evil-spawn/
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal