Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Game Play Variations => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on August 14, 2012, 03:17:20 PM
-
You can only use one brigade on offense and one brigade on defense.
-
Meaning no multicolor heroes/ECs either?
-
Could be interesting for sure
-
Meaning no multicolor heroes/ECs either?
Correct. You could also do a variation where every card must share a brigade, but I think mono makes deck building much more of a challenge.
-
would curses count for this?
-
would curses count for this?
Curses do indeed have brigades.
-
Are no brigades (fort's/doms) allowed?
-
Are no brigades (fort's/doms) allowed?
Yes. I probably should clarify the only rule to make it look more official. Basically, anything that has a brigade has to be mono-brigade, and everything (alignment specific) has to share that mono-brigade.
-
what about sites? would they have to be the same color as your offense? I'm guessing no multi-color sites then as well
-
Sites are neutral and do not have brigades.
-
They have brigades, just not good brigades. They are neutral brigades. This is somewhat important because Asher can actually recur Pit of Dothan and Pharaoh's Prison, as they are blue Genesis cards.
Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
-
And actually, they are in fact good brigades. This came down when it was determined Sites can be used with Herod's Temple to save appropriately-brigaded Heroes because the (rulebook?) says that Sites have brigades which match Heroes, getting them ruled to be the same brigade in all senses.
-
I sure hope you're right. I know in the past it was ruled the way Prof A said and I never heard that being overturned. I always thought that was a bad ruling, especially considering the nature of sites and the language of rulebook/reg. I remember having a debate with Schaef about it. If they ever made sites that weren't a good brigade color (black, grey, pink, etc) then I could maybe see it getting redefined.
I think the biggest difference this makes is for cards like Emperor Vitellius and Broken Cisterns.
As far as the variation goes, it seems like the point is to have the characters and enhancements be one brigade for offense and defense so I don't think the sites should matter.
Any guesses as to what people would make for these decks? I'd say that Genesis and Disciples wouldn't be limited too much by this rule so they might be the top picks. I'm pretty sure that Magicians will not be very popular for the defense. Babylonians might still be good and they'd be a lot less likely to see Daniel heros.
-
They have brigades, just not good brigades. They are neutral brigades. This is somewhat important because Asher can actually recur Pit of Dothan and Pharaoh's Prison, as they are blue Genesis cards.
Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
I agree with Prof A. We had a ruling at Natz on this and Tyler, Gabe and I all agreed that sites have neutral brigades.
-
That's a rule change if true and needs to be announced.
However, it could be that "good brigade" is shorthand for "the brigade on a good card." If that were so, all brigades would be neutral qua ipse and would merely be good, evil or neutral because of the card type they are on. However, this was not elaborated when the ruling as made and needs to be if it is indeed the case.
-
That's a rule change if true and needs to be announced.
If you'll point me to the official ruling where it was stated that sites DO have good brigades, then I'll update that thread as well as the official ruling announcement thread for you.
-
And actually, they are in fact good brigades. This came down when it was determined Sites can be used with Herod's Temple to save appropriately-brigaded Heroes because the (rulebook?) says that Sites have brigades which match Heroes, getting them ruled to be the same brigade in all senses.
I actually remember that discussion, and I think the ruling was that you could use sites for HT because the phrase "matching brigade" on HT is the same phrase that is used in the rulebook for the rules of site access. However, it has also been ruled that Sites do not count for cards like Broken Cisterns and Vitellius (with good reason, otherwise no one would want to risk using access sites and then everyone would use site decks). Thus, what I remember as the outcome of the ruling is that sites have neutral brigades which are considered "matching brigades" with their respective good brigades, but sites do not have good brigades.
-
So "good, evil and neutral" are indeed governed by the alignment of the card. Makes sense.